Happy Super Bowl Day

Just thought I’d blow in (like the proverbial ill wind. Or something.) and wish everyone a happy Super Bowl day.

If you’e enjoying a party, be safe, drive safe and al that stuff. If not, you apparently have no friends. Like me. No, wait, I’m going across the street to a small SB party. Game comes on at 3:00 p.m. here, so there’s still lots of time to get something worthwhile accomplished, like read a book.

I’m not rooting for either team so much as I just want a good game, free of injuries and officiating gaffs. May the best team win!

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Happy Super Bowl Day

  1. Jeff S. says:

    I also hope we get a good game with no injuries and decent officiating. I think we ended up with the two best teams actually in the big game this year which is a rarity it seems.

    Hopefully I will be joining Carl V. at a Super Bowl party today. The game doesn’t start here until 5:30pm which is just when we might start getting snow. hopefully the snow will hold off several more hours.

    Go Colts!!!

  2. Mixed feelings here. While I do enjoy pro football and follow the Colts because of the TN connection, all of the non-football stuff and the endless how-ha about commercials, sponsors, hot babes… makes me wish for something cleaner and more focused on the game itself. Perhaps I should spend my evening reading a good book instead.

    grumpy,

    bill………….

  3. Richard says:

    William – I agree. The hoopla and hype are a real turn-off for me. I’m sometimes tempted to listen to the game on the radio, which seems to have less interruptions and might even skip the halftime show. The Manning family is in for a tough day, one way or the other.

  4. Richard says:

    Jeff S. – you guys have fun! I guess I’ll root for the Heinleins to beat the Asimovs, unless the latter put Niven in at QB.

  5. Jeff S. says:

    Where can I purchse some Heinlein gear? 🙂

    I agree with Bill as well. I certainly will skip the halftime show.

  6. The Who are supposed to play a medley of their hits from their 40 year career all in 12 minutes. I’ll be watching.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    I’m reading Train by Dexter and listening to River by Herbie Hancock. Am I unAmerican?

  8. Richard says:

    No! That’s a great combo. (no pun) I listened to that Mingus album this a.m. But with about an hour before game time, it’s time to give the television gods their offering…

  9. Evan Lewis says:

    I’m celebrating by leaving the TV off and rereading, for the first time in 20 years, Fast One by Paul Cain. Great stuff.

  10. Carl V. says:

    Heinlein’s, Asimov’s?!?! I want to see that game! I need to get satellite back! 😉

    I enjoy the commercials, when they are funny. Each year they seem to be getting worse. The Go Daddy commericals are just stupid. Either go all out and actually show sexy commercials (which isn’t really appropriate for a ‘family’ setting) or don’t show them at all (the much better option in this case). Bud Light spent way too much money but not in the creativity department.

    As for the game, I think we’ve had some really great games these past few years and this one was no exception. While I do genuinely like Peyton Manning I was happy for the Saints win. I hated that the nail was put in the coffin by a Manning interception. Personally I would have rather seen him tie the game on that drive and then saw Brees march the Saints down for the win, but beggers cannot be choosers and, again, I’m happy for the Saints organization and all the fans who are celebrating their first Superbowl victory.

    Hope all the pizza was good, Richard.

  11. Richard says:

    Evan – I have that one on the TBR shelf, I picked it up in the book room at the Monterey LCC. I started it one day, but just wasn’t in the right mood, so it’s still waiting. How did you like it?

  12. Richard says:

    My comments are on your blog, this morning.

Leave a Reply

