Hey, read some science fiction!

Over at Stainless Steel Droppings, Carl V. is urging us to participate in his SF Experience 2010 – from January 1st, 2010 through February 28th, 2010, we should “fully embrace science fiction, in reading, film/tv watching, and game playing.” Sounds good to me, though I’ll be reading mysteries too, of course. Go to the post and get the full run-down by clicking on the icon in the right column.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hey, read some science fiction!

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    I’ve had a craving to revisit the first three books in Burrough’s Mars series, but I suppose that hardly counts. How about if I read The Skylark of Space?

  2. Richard says:

    Bourroughs counts! It’s Mars, right? That’s another planet. I know many will say it’s fantasy, but as far as I’m concerned, even fantasy is okay. You just gave me an idea…

    Oh and Skylark is great too, if you can stand to read ‘em. Doc Smith was a giant in his time.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    I can count the SF I’ve read on one hand-it’s like learning a new language for me.

  4. Richard says:

    That’s how I feel about legal and medical thrillers.

  5. Drongo says:

    Already on it. The first two novels I read this year were THE DAY THEY H-BOMBED LOS ANGELES, a 1959 piece of pulp by Robert Moore Williams, and ONE SECOND AFTER, a 2009 story about the U.S. getting attacked.

    I’m about to start HUNT THROUGH THE CRADLE OF FEAR by Charles Ardai. Not quite sf, but it has elements of the fantastic about it.

  6. Richard says:

    I’m counting SNAKE AGENT, reviewed yesterday which is SF-mystery-occult-fantasy, and I’m reading Christopher Anvil right now. So 2 for me also.

  7. Carl V. says:

    Burroughs definitely counts, the John Carter series is certainly SF, and some darn fun SF at that!

    Did you enjoy Snake Agent. I really did when I read it a few years back. Enjoyed the second in the series, though not quite as much as Snake Agent. I have the next two but have not read them.

  8. sally906 says:

    I am reading a 3 book omnibus by James White called Beginning Operation – it has his first 3 books in his Sector General series. I am enjoying the first one – which is a series of short stories called Hospital Station

  9. You’re going to like those medical SF books by James White, Sally. If you’re interested in more medical SF, you might try Murray Leinster’s MED SHIP.

  10. Richard says:

    George, are the James White books at all reminiscent of Leinster’s Med Series stuff?

  11. Yes, the Jame White Sector General series has some elements of Leinster’s MED SHIP series. The main difference is that the Med Ship travels to troubled planets and in the Sector General series, the sick patients travel to the space hospital. If you like one series, you’re likely to enjoy the other series, too.

  12. Richard says:

    Okay, ANOTHER book / author to add to “The List”.

  13. No, Rick, not another book…14 more books!
    Sector General
    1. Hospital Station (1962)
    2. Star Surgeon (1963)
    3. The Aliens Among Us (1964)
    4. Major Operation (1971)
    5. Futures Past (1977)
    6. Ambulance Ship (1979)
    7. Sector General (1983)
    8. Star Healer (1984)
    9. Code Blue – Emergency (1987)
    10. The Genocidal Healer (1992)
    11. The Galactic Gourmet (1996)
    12. Final Diagnosis (1997)
    13. Mind Changer (1998)
    14. Double Contact (1999)

  14. Richard says:

    Wow. Thanks, George.

    I ordered the omnibus volume with the first three in it that Sally mentioned above. If I like that, I can go on to the next two omnibus volumes, which will get me through 9 of them. I wonder when I’ll have TIME for these?

Leave a Reply

