Amelia

Saturday Soundtrack # 12

original motion picture soundtrack composed by Gabriel Yared.
CD: Varèse Saraband 302 066 994 2, released 2009. time: 51 minutes, cues: 13

I haven’t seen this film, and probably won’t until it becomes available on DVD, which for me means available from Netflix. But I heard some clips and thought it sounded really nice, so I picked it up.

The first couple of times I listened to the entire soundtrack, I was a little disappointed, not because there was anything wrong with it, but because it seemed pretty bland. I almost set it aside, one of those “well, you can’t win them all” things, but somehow it stay at hand and a few days later I played it again. I was working on a post, or some document or other, and suddenly the silence bothered me. The CD had played through, and though I hadn’t been that aware of the music, I was certainly aware of being disappointed when it stopped.

That’s not a usual reaction for me, so I played it again and gave it my full attention, and I was charmed by it. As has been the case with several recent Saturday Soundtrack selections, this is a light, easy to listen to, romantic little soundtrack, without a lot of the dramatic booming and crashing that characterizes so many soundtracks these days.

Okay, this isn’t the greatest soundtrack ever written – and don’t ask me what is, that’s way too long a discussion – but it’s gentle, enjoyable and worth the price. You’re not likely to hear this music and recall a single moment of the film, not even recall, in a year’s time, which film this music belongs to, but as music, and that’s what a soundtrack is, after all, it’s subtle and makes a nice listening experience. You may fine that this one stays on the player, at home or in the car, longer than you expect.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Review, Saturday Soundtrack and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Amelia

  1. I’ve ordered AMELIA. Sounds like just the kind of music I enjoy! I haven’t seen the movie, either. As I recall, the reviews were mixed.

  2. Richard says:

    Did I surprise you with this one, George?

  3. You sure did, Rick. I’m still waiting for your review of AVATAR. My niece has seen it three times and a guy at work has seen it SIX TIMES! I may go to the IMAX next week if my work schedule allows.

  4. Richard says:

    I don’t want to do AVATAR until I see the film. We still haven’t seen it, were going today but something has come up… maybe next week.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    I saw Avatar tonight and listening to the soundtrack beforehand made me much more aware of the music in it. Especially giving more depth to the jungle sections. Thanks again.

  6. Richard says:

    My pleasure, Patti!

Leave a Reply

