2009 Reading

This is the first beginning-of-the-year for this blog, and I’ve not done this before in this format. I also do a hardcopy newsletter, and there I created a table, but no tables here. So here goes.

My reading for 2009 by type:

  • Adventure ………  4
  • Anthropology ….  2
  • Children’s ……….  2
  • Bio / Autobio …..  5
  • Fantasy & S-F …. 17
  • General fiction …  2
  • Graphic novel ….. 13
  • Historical fiction . 1
  • Humor ……………  1
  • Mystery …………. 32
  • Non-fiction ……..  11
  • Poetry …………….  1
  • Total: ……………..91

My goal is to read 104 books a year (an average of 2 per week) but I rarely make it. My wife says I’m always reading, but it must not be so. Maybe it’s the time I spend looking at blogs, or doing the simple chores of life, like paying the bills and tending the house and yard. Anyway, in my world, 91 books ain’t bad. Of course, if I were to divide the number of unread books here by 91, I’d undoubtedly have a number greater then the expected years left to me, so I won’t so that.

Here are my favorites for the year, not necessarily published in 2009 – most were not – but that’s when I read them.

  • Spade and Archer by Joe Gores – enjoyable prequel to Hammett’s Maltese Falcon.
  • The Last Colony by John Scalzi – conclusion to trilogy began with book above.
  • Old Man’s War by John Scalzi – best recently-written SF I’ve read in years.
  • Seven Conquests – Poul Anderson – old short story collection
  • War and Pieces – Bill Willingham – graphic novel in Fables world
  • Tin Roof Blowdown – James Lee Burke – mystery set just after Katrina hit.
  • Red Knife – William Kent Krueger – the Cork O’Connor series
  • The Case of the Amorous Aunt by Erle Stanley Gardner – I like all the Perry Mason books, but I thought this was an especially good one.
  • Dawnspell (The Bristling Wood) by Katharine Kerr – third in fantasy series that’s all very good.
  • The Trouble With Aliens by Christopher Anvil – science fiction short story collection. Every one of these collections from Baen Books has been a top favorite.
  • The Disappeared by Kathryn Kristine Rusch  – a science fiction police procedural set on the moon, very well done.
  • Heaven’s Keep by William Kent Krueger – the latest Cork O’Connor mystery

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 2009 Reading

  1. Todd Mason says:

    I’ve certainly been meaning to read the Gores.

  2. Patti Abbott says:

    I’ve been meaning to read Kent Kruger.

  3. Bill Crider says:

    Gosh, I’ve actually read some of these. Glad to see the Gores book on the list.

  4. Drongo says:

    I only read one or two science fiction novels last year. The teenage me would not recognize the adult me.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice mix, Rick. The Gores was really good and the Scalzi series has quickly become one of my favorites, though I haven’t finished it yet.

    My goal is 200 books a year (4 a week); this year I made it to 3 a week (150+).

    I spend way too much time reading blogs and playing Zuma. Also, until I started reading more YA books I was not finding as many mysteries to my liking as in the past, so for a while my reading as way down.

  6. Richard says:

    Todd – almost everyone liked Spade and Archer, and so did I. I’ve enjoyed all of his books, the DKA especially. Joe even made me the villain (one of them) in Cons, Scams and Grifts.

  7. Richard says:

    Drongo – You’d like the Scalzi OLD MAN’S WAR trio, I think. Quite reminiscent of Heinlein’s work. I can also strongly recommend the Rusch, a nice combo of SF and police procedural.

    Crider – I bet you’ve read every single one of these, with the possible exception of the Kerr.

    Thanks, Jeff – Go ahead and finish the Scalzi trilogy, the 3rd book is better than the 2nd.

  8. Evan Lewis says:

    An impressive tally, Rick. Of your top ten, I’ve read only the Perry Mason, and have the Gores book waiting.

    What, no Alamo?

  9. I’m a big fan of Poul Anderson so I’m glad he made your list. I may have to read a few Perry Masons in 2010.

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    Guess what. I got a Ken Krueger for a birthday present! Weird.

  11. Richard says:

    Not weird, just cool. Which one did you get?

Leave a Reply

