Pearl Harbor Day

December 7th, 1941. I was born just under four years later, but this day affected my life and the lives of every other American of my parents generation. WWII and our involvement in it are significant place markers in their lives.

WWI was the war to end all wars, WW II shouldn’t even have been necessary – war is never necessary – but apparently the warlike nature of mankind won’t let peace reign. That’s a pity. Though everyone is caught up in the beginnings of the holiday season, the struggles with the economy, just getting on with daily life, this is a good day to pause and remember the bravery of those who fought, it was a simpler time, when things seemed much more balck-and-white.

We need to also remember shameful mistakes made, such as the imprisonment of Japanese-Americans at Manzanar and other camps.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pearl Harbor Day

  1. Patti Abbott says:

    Off-topic. The Messiah was outstanding.

  2. This was sure a Dark Day for our country, Rick. I’m glad you’re honoring it on your blog.

  3. Richard says:

    Patti – I’m glad to hear it!

  4. Richard says:

    George – Just seemed right. I don’t suppose many people even think about it much these days. The wall calendar I have here doesn’t show it; they always used to. Perhaps it’s not PC to remember when a nation – now our friend – attacked us.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I beleive the “war to end all wars” was World War I, Rick.

    My brother was born on pearl Harbor Day (as was my grandmother), though 8 years later.

  6. Richard says:

    You’re right, Jeff. My bad. I sorta fixed it, above. Still the 2nd one should have been the war to REALLY, TRULY end all wars.

  7. Cap'n Bob says:

    Is it the 7th already? I had no idea. My uncle Eugene Napier was wounded at Pearl Harbor and had permanent damage to his hand. Not so bad he couldn’t toss down a beaker of rocket fuel, though. He became a wino.

  8. Richard says:

    Pinot Noir, I presume.

  9. Cap'n Bob says:

    More like Thunderbird noir.

  10. Drongo says:

    I have half-a-dozen 2010 calendars. Two mention Pearl Harbor, four don’t.

    The local tv stations usually note the day. They try their best to track down any Pearl Harbor survivor in the area, and have him discuss his memories of that day.

  11. Richard says:

    Can you believe it? I thought the OR=OR St. game was Saturday so I missed it. DA*N! I’m looking forward to the Rose Bowl. Arizona did beat SC so they may get a birth in the Holiday Bowl, I haven’t looked up the full bowl schedule yet. Oh oh. Arizona plays Nebraska. Yikes, Nebraska almost beat Texas.

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    My father (who was 17 at the time) was at a football game at Yankee Stadium (or perhaps the Polo Grounds) on December 7, 1941 when they started calling military men to report to their units.

    He got his parents’ permission to enlist and spent four years in the Army Air Force fixing planes in England.

  13. Drongo says:

    That Oregon win was better than sex.

    Knew Wildcats would beat USC.

    My older male relatives-who are mostly gone now-pretty much never talked about their WW2 experiences.

  14. Richard says:

    Drongo – They may well have talked about it to each other (other vets) though, that was a usual pattern. They felt no one else could understand, and they were probably right.

Leave a Reply

