Happy Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving already. Wow, where has the year gone?

There is much to be thankful for. Here’s my “grateful for” list:

  • My health, family, home and friends
  • Books, and the people who write, publish and sell them
  • CD player technology and classical music CDs
  • Computers, blogs and blogging friends
  • That I live in the U.S.A. instead of most other countries in the world.

I hope everyone has a wonderful day! We’ll be hosting family and friends at the old homestead.  We’re trying something new this year. We bought pre-stuffed turkey breasts instead of a complete bird. I like the dark meat, and will miss it, but this way everyone else gets what they like. The cooking time is much less, as is the mess and fuss. The rest of the meal is pretty much as usual, including pumpkin pie for dessert. Since I don’t like pumpkin (come on, did the Pilgrims really make pumpkin pie? Have cranberry? Watch football?) there will also be cheesecake. I usually get a fruit pie, but this year I’d be the only one who would eat it and I wasn’t going to buy a whole pie for myself!

I’ll be watching football, having a rare toddy and enjoying the day. It’s uncommon for us to have little ones ranging about the place, but my wife will handle that aspect of things. I did my part by shopping, cleaning the house and getting everything ready while she was at work Monday-Wednesday.

Not to fear – I’ll be posting a Friday Forgotten Book tomorrow and and I have an unusual Saturday Soundtrack for you as well.

Now for some fun! Here’s a THANKSGIVING QUIZ for you.

Can you find the turkey in this picture?

(hint: there may be more than one correct answer)

Can you find the turkey in this picture?

Have a great holiday everyone!

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Have a great one, Rick. We’ll be at home, alone, cooking (a turkey breast) jsut for the two of us.

    Jackie gets a little depressed at holidays but I prefer it that way. My family is mostly way across the country and the stress of dinner at my parents’ house is off the charts.

    I agree with you on pumpkin so we got a min apple-cranberry piece.

    Hey, give me turkey & stuffing and I’m a happy guy. The rest is optional.

  2. Patti Abbott says:

    Have a good one, Rick. And once again, to you too, Jeff.

  3. Richard says:

    So, Jeff, did you find the turkey in the Quiz picture?

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Both of them!

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    You too, Patti.

  6. Like Jeff, all I need is turkey and stuffing and I’m a happy camper. However, this Thanksgiving Diane has FIVE pies for dessert. Yum! Have a Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

  7. Evan Lewis says:

    Happy day, Rick, and all. That quiz was rigged. It’s dang near impossible to take a photo in Wash.D.C. without getting a turkey.

  8. Richard says:

    Ha! Good one, Evan.

  9. Richard says:

    FIVE pies? Good grief, George! Wow.

  10. Richard says:

    I’m signing off now. There will be a Friday Forgotten book tomorrow…

  11. David H. Doerrer says:

    Interesting coincidence. Our younger daughter and her husband have done the “family” Thanksgiving dinner since we moved back here 10 years ago. This year they also decided against the traditional turkey and dressing, in favor of Kevin’s Turkey Chili (which is very good). We did have cranberry sauce and pumpkin pie. I did miss the liver and giblets.

  12. Richard says:

    I wish I could say our experiment was a success, but it was not. Next year it’s back to a whole roasted bird.

Leave a Reply

