Miracle Kicker

Miracle Kicker - Dark Captain, Light Captain - album, 2008

Dark Captain, Light Captain – debut album, released October, 2008

Loaf Records, ASIN: B001G67UQ4, Mp3 download – available at iTunes, Amazon, LALA, similar music download sites.

The powers that decide what category a group, album or song belongs to must view the world differently than I do. This is labelled Folk. If that makes you think of The Kingston Trio think again. This is rock, but gentle and beautiful.

Back in the day, I heard “Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme” and liked it a whole lot. That album, with “Scarborough Fair” and other great songs, is still in my playlist, though, I’ll admit, infrequently after all these years. When I heard this album I thought Wow. I HAVE to have that.

There is so much here that brings back S&G for me, and Crosby, Stills and Nash. The acoustic melodies, the harmony. The first several times I listened to this album I didn’t even try to pick up on the lyrics, I just enjoyed the Sound. I’m not saying anything new, these comparisons have been made by almost every review I’ve read on this group.

Primary group members Daniel Carney, Giles Littleford and Neil Kleiner and drummer Chin Keeler weave musical and vocal textures into a coherent whole that’s most pleasing. This is music I can listen to again and again. I wish there was more of it. DCLC has issued some singles and a reprise of some of these songs, but it’s really time for a new, complete album. Meanwhile this will have to do, and do it does, very nicely indeed.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Review. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Miracle Kicker

  1. George Kelley says:

    Sounds like exactly the kind of music I love to listen to, Rick. I ordered it right after I read this review!

  2. Richard says:

    I’m eager for your opinion, George!

  3. Neil says:

    Thanks for the kind words. Actually we begin recording our next album today! There are non album tracks on both versions of the Jealous Enemies Single (“Mid-Session Interval” and “Summer”) as well as two non album tracks on the Circles EP. In addition we recently released a remix EP which you should be able to pick up on iTunes.

    Thanks again for the support

    Neil DCLC

  4. Richard says:

    Thanks, Neil. Hope the recording sessions go smoothly. I’m already looking forward to the new album. I do hope you’ll stay in the same groove as MK.

Leave a Reply

