Happy Veteran’s Day!

Though it’s not one of the “big holidays” in my way of thinking, it’s an important one. I was in the US Army, went in Fall of 1963 after high school. After boot camp at Fort Ord, I spent most of my remaining time at Ft. Knox, in Kentucky. I was in armor, loading, driving, firing and “commanding” tanks, back in those days they were M-60A1 models. Ft. Knox wasn’t a bad station, at the time it had the largest PX in the country, with a pretty big book section.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Veteran’s Day!

  1. Patti Abbott says:

    My Dad landed in Normandy. My brother-in-law never recovered from his Viet Nam experience and died at age 29. Am so happy my son never had to serve.

  2. We appreciate your service to our country, Rick. Thank you.

  3. Richard says:

    I guess I never felt like a “real” soldier, since I was in the States the whole time, and I suppose you could say it was short & sweet, compared to those who went into combat.

Leave a Reply

