Halloween, The Clocks

Halloween

It was pretty quiet this year. Often we don’t even bother turning on the porch light, but we got a little candy and made our home available to trick-or-treaters. We had four doorbell rings, 13 children, all of them under 8 years or so. Cute costumes: angels, fairies, a vampire, Yoda. All the kids were well behaved and said “thank you” and there were parents tagging along and waiting at the foot of the walk up to the house.

The leftover candy? There isn’t a lot, and after we ate a few pieces (I hadn’t had a Three Musketeers bar in 20 years!) ourselves the rest gets donated.

The Clocks

Daylight Savings time. I’ve never been all that sure what it “saves”, but it’s a handy time to change the batteries in the few battery run or backed-up clocks we have. There are 14 clocks to set: 3 kitchen appliance, 2 living room, 2 bedroom, 1 study/desk, 2 automobile, 1 garage, 1 bathroom, two wrist watches. Plus the clock for this WordPress blog!

How did we ever end up with so many clocks? I remember a time 35 years ago when I stopped wearing a wristwatch, saying with a smug half-smile that I didn’t want to be “a slave to time”. What hogwash that was, of course, but I was youngish and foolish.

Being retired, you’d think I wouldn’t care so much about what time it is, but I still have appointments, things to do at certain times, places to go, television shows I watch, though I don’t do a lot of the latter.

Now that the clocks have all been set back an hour, it will take me a few days to adjust to the light as opposed to the time. The afternoons are the trickiest.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Halloween, The Clocks

  1. Drongo says:

    I got so involved with the UO/USC game that I forgot to set my clocks back. Instead of 5:00 AM, I unwittingly got up at 4:00 AM.

  2. Richard says:

    That was quite a game. I’ve not seen SC look so lame in a long time. Pre-season, the talk here was all about this season the excellent defense would have to carry the freshman quarterback. Didn’t see that defense yesterday, nor in the previous games. Oregon looked really good, but small. I’m sure they’ll move up in the rankings, deservedly so.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    Depressing to see the confusion at my father’s assisted living facility. The concept of changing clocks seems to disappear after 85 or so.

  4. Cap'n Bob says:

    I’m not allowed to wear watches or jewelry at work so I got out of the habit years ago. Changing the house clocks has always been a hassle, but there aren’t too many. They say daylight savings is supposed to save us a lot of money. So why not set the clocks back two hours and double the savings?

  5. Richard says:

    Bob – I doubt it saves us a darn thing, but I guess it’s nice to have the extra light in the afternoon and evening during the summer. Then we do this change, and it all seems topsy-turvey for a while.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    You guys could always move to Arizona, which boycotts the whole process.

    Most of the clocks here change automatically – computers, cable, cell phones. I just have a small wind-up clock in the den, a couple of watches, the clock radio, the answering machine, a kitchen clock and the clock on the microwave. Let’s see, that’s seven.

    Jackie is like you guys and never wears a watch; if she needs the time she checks her cell phone. I’m different in that I need to have it on my wrist.

    Don’t ask me why.

  7. Richard says:

    Arizona used to have it when I lived there, but that’s been a while: 1965-1968.

    I do wear a watch, and like you need to have the time there on my wrist. I didn’t list the clocks that reset automatically, which are only the computer and the wife’s cell phone.

Leave a Reply

