Saturday Thoughts

To-do list

The wife is at a quilt class, so I have the morning to myself, so it’s out to the yard for some late summer clean-up. Seems like there’s always plenty to do, more than I really want to do, often, but it beats boredom. I figure I’ll get things done while it’s cool, then take a book out there and enjoy my handiwork.

Football

Both USC and UCLA are telecast today, so there goes the afternoon. UCLA doesn’t look to be very good again this year, but there are great hopes for USC. The game today – Ohio State – should answer questions about the freshman starting QB.

Multitasking

I wish I were better at doing two or three things at once. It would be great to read while I watch television, especially during the myriad commercials, but I can’t seem to split my concentration effectively. At least I should be able to skim a book on WordPress blogs I picked up a couple weeks ago.

9-11 (yesterday) Specials

We watched hour after hour of September 11 specials yesterday on the History Channel. It’s interesting how much detail we forget from year to year about the events, though we have a solid big picture. The reenactments are pretty well done, especially the one on Flight 11. The specific pictures – the planes striking, the collapses, the billows of dust and debris, the aftermath – are still deeply moving. It’s almost as if September 11 has become, instead of Labor Day, the end of summer.

Next Post: Monday. See you then.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saturday Thoughts

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I can’t read and watch TV at the same time either, Rick. Not sure why that is exactly, except that if I’m interested in a book I need to concentrate on it and the TV is a distraction where music isn’t.

  2. George Kelley says:

    I usually go through the AMERICAN RECORD GUIDE or some other catalog while watching a sporting event on TV. Then it’s easy to look up from time to time to see what’s happening (or not happening). When I read fiction or non-fiction, I sometimes listen to some background music but most of the time I just read in silence…especially if it’s a really good book. Who needs the distractions?

  3. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one. My wife can read, watch television, work on a quilt and listen to music at the same time.

    I’m like you, George, I prefer SILENCE, which is indeed golden, but background music is okay as long as it doesn’t have lyrics. So it’s classical often the classical station here, KUSC.

    Speaking of USC, I’m not at all happy with the way the USC-Ohio State game is going.

  4. Cap'n Bob says:

    Holy mackerel, Andy, the Huskies beat USC. What an upset.

  5. Richard says:

    That was a pretty miserable showing, and it wasn’t only the rookie QB. I thought Carroll made some coaching errors (like not getting the FG at the end of the 1st half). Also, Arizona lost big. Cal, UCLA, Oregon won. Plus BOTH Washington schools won. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

