Saturday Notes 9-4-09

Football

Here in the U.S., it’s the first day of the college football season (the game with the oval ball, not the one we Yanks call “soccer”). I doubt anyone cares, but just in case, I’ll tell you I’m pretty much a Pac 10 fan. My mother went to Stanford, my father UCLA, my brother USC and I attended the University of Arizona (that’s the one in Tucson), all of them Pac 10 schools. I have a soft spot for University of Tennessee, because I have family in the Knoxville area, and I don’t like Arizona State at all, because they are my alma mater’s hated rival.

Today here in hot smoky southern California both USC and UCLA are playing. I’ll be near the television.

Blog Schedule

Over to the right at the top is a publishing schedule. Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday at present. I don’t want to set you, dear reader, up for too much expectation, nor do I want to have the pressure of a post every single day No Matter What. Dig? I may exceed the schedule, but I’m going to do everything I can not to do less. Friday will be a Friday Forgotten Book, the other days whatever happens, happens.

Cat Back

Anyone who read the posts last week about our cat Charlotte who had radioactive iodine treatments, may be happy to hear she is home. Though I’m temporarily nicknaming her Radioactive Lass, she isn’t glowing, not even in the dark, nor have any of the rest of us turned green, powerful and angry. We have some special care instructions for a week or so, then another test to see if things are back to normal and that’s it. Sure beats giving a cat a pill a day forever.

Speaking of cats, though I don’t read many cat mysteries, I do live with several of them, so on slow days, as “they” say, a cat picture may show up here. Gird your loins. It won’t happen often, but it will happen.

Speaking of pictures (how nicely I create these segues), I may also toss in something from various trips to Oregon and Alaska which we’ve taken over the last couple of years. The photo in the header of this blog is part of one of them.

That’s it for today. Thanks for dropping by.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saturday Notes 9-4-09

  1. Bill Crider says:

    Glad to hear Charlotte’s home and doing well. Giving her a pill might make her angry, and you wouldn’t like her then.

  2. Drongo says:

    One imagines that Charlotte is also glad to be home. Never met a cat who liked to stay at the vets.

    I attended the University of Oregon, so I’m still in shock about the Boise St. game. I was sure this was the year the Ducks would win a national championship. Oh well.

    Please don’t hesitate to toss in your pics of Oregon. She’s a beautiful state.

  3. Richard Robinson says:

    Okay, one pic of Oregon coming right up (as soon as the USC game is over).

  4. Cap'n Bob says:

    I’m obliged to support the U Dub, the team that lost every game last year.

Leave a Reply

