They say the heat drives THEM in…

…and they’re here. We’ve been having plenty of heat, and for the last couple of months we’ve had plenty of ants too.

They're here, and they're hungry...

Ants aren’t that much of a problem here in SoCal, at least most of the time. But in the highest heat of summer – now – they find their way in through in the walls and emerge from the baseboards, electric sockets, anywhere they can, searching for food and water. The cat’s food bowls are a favorite target.

It makes for a joyous start to the day to wake up, stumble into the kitchen to get the coffee going only to discover a trail of ants pouring across the kitchen floor and aswarm in the cat bowl.

Because of the cats, we use glass spray to kill them, remove their trail markers and clean them up. We only use the harsh stuff at the entry point.

The Movie

I haven’t watched the 1954 film in years, and mostly remember the early part where the little girl screams out “Them!” and the later part when the things have gotten into the L.A. water/sewer system. I always thought it was one of the better fifties horror-creature films, and in light of our own invasion, I think it’s time to put it in the Netflix queue.

Too bad these films aren’t on late night television anymore. Somehow the proliferation of cable channels that I always thought would make watching anything I wanted easier has driven most of this stuff away. Or maybe it’s just that, because I have the 200 channel package instead of the 500 channel package, I’m not getting that one that has the good stuff on it.

That’s okay, I can always read a book.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to They say the heat drives THEM in…

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    It’s true, Rick, these movies almost need to be watched late at night with the lights out. THEM! was definitely one of the better ones.

    I just pray Rob Zombie or some other moron doesn’t remake it.

  2. Richard Robinson says:

    Amen to that, Jeff.

  3. Beth Fedyn says:

    We had an ant infestation spring of 2008. I’ve never cleaned so many floors so frequently in my life. I see plenty of ants outside. If they stay there, I’m fine with it.

    Should Them show up while channel-surfing, you can pretty much guarantee I’ll stop and watch it. It’s a classic!

  4. Drongo says:

    Not only one of the better 50’s horror-creature films, but one of the most influential. Later, lesser flicks featured giant scorpions, spiders, lizards, grasshoppers, shrews, and I’m sure there were others.

    If I remember right, THEM had an early performance by Fess Parker, just before his coonskin cap days.

    Btw, there’s an oddball novel about the ant world called EMPIRE OF THE ANTS, by a Frenchman named Bernard Werber. Turns out that ants got their own problems.

  5. I seem to recall one with giant crabs. Yep, that radioactive monster-sized creature thing was popular. EMPIRE OF THE ANTS sounds vaguely familiar, I’ll have to look it up.

  6. Drongo says:

    ATTACK OF THE CRAB MONSTERS. My favorite Roger Corman flick-I can’t believe I forgot that one.

Leave a Reply

