Current Listening

While I’m unable to read, or watch movies or television, I’m by necessity listening to music and audiobooks. The iPod has come in handy, especially for listening to the many podcasts I have stored up, including Mystery Theater, News from Lake Wobegon, A Way With Words, The Classic Tales Podcast and many others including a good amount of Old Time Radio.

Fred Hersch - Alive at the Vangard

The music album that’s been living in the player for the last few days is exceptionally enjoyable.

The Fred Hersch Trio has done a lot of nice albums, but I’m finding the variety and skill of playing of Hersch and his trio on the 2-CD Alive at the Vanguard especially pleasing.

The group also has a new one out, Floating, which is winging it’s way to me even as I type this.

Track Listing:
CD1: Havana; Tristesse; Segment; Lonely Woman/Nardis; Dream of Monk; Rising, Falling; Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise; Doxy.
CD2: Opener; I Fall in Love Too Easily; Jackalope; The Wind/Moon and Sand; Sartorial; From This Moment On; The Song Is You/Played Twice.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Current Listening

  1. macavityabc says:

    Glad you have some things to keep you occupied and that you enjoy. I’ll check out The Fred Hersh Trio.

  2. Todd Mason says:

    How long do you expect to have to rest the eyes, Richard? Hope you’re enjoying the audio inputs…it’s truly a golden age of access for that sort of thing, though ferreting some of the older materials out (particularly when they aren’t old network and syndie radio, but instead something like the Caedmon recordings of major plays) can sometime be complex. Much better luck ahead.

  3. Richard says:

    Todd, another couple of weeks, I hope not more but we’ll see. What’s your opinion of the Fred Hersch Trio?

  4. Richard, I hope you’re feeling better now. The Fred Hersch Trio sounds interesting and I’ll check them out too. There’s so much of western music (as opposed to pop music) that I don’t know anything about.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Welcome back and hope you’re able to be back fully real soon.

    Never heard of the trio. I find these days that I rarely listen to the radio at all, which used to be on all day. Sad, but my tastes haven’t changed; the playlists have. If I want to hear music it will be on CD for the most part. Most recent purchase was Emmylou Harris, Anthology.

  6. Diane plays a few chapters an audio book for her 94-year-old mother each day. I tend to listen to music while I’m driving around running errands. If the radio is on in our home, it’s usually a National Public Radio program. Get well soon!

  7. Richard says:

    Thanks, everyone. I’m hoping to be fully functional in another 2-3 weeks, Not being able to read anything is very unpleasant.

  8. Richard says:

    George, I first heard about Fred Hersch Trio on a NPR show.

  9. Never heard anything by them that I can remember.

  10. Todd Mason says:

    Sorry to take so long to get back to you, Rick…I’m not sure I’d knowingly heard his work before today, listening to some of the samples on his site tells me he has listened carefully to John Lewis, Dave Brubeck and McCoy Tyner and taken notes…not a way to drive me off. Thanks!

  11. Richard says:

    My pleasure to turn you on to a new to you artist. I’ve been enjoying their new one, Floating.

Leave a Reply

