New Arrivals and Current Reading, June 30 – July 6, 2014

New Arrivals
Not a thing, must be a Summer lull.

Current Reading
As mentioned last time, I went on a Sherlock Holmes pastiche run, reading The Will of the Dead by George Mann, The Stuff of Nightmares and The Gods of War both by James Lovegrove. I followed that up with a book that came in last week, Encounters with Sherlock Holmes edited by George Mann, a short story collection.

I read two books, The Web of Murder by Harry Whittington and The Kiss-Off by Douglas Heyes, a Steve Mallory novel, for next week’s July 11th special Friday Forgotten Book post on the femme fatale, though I’m not sure either one is a good fit for that subject, and sad to say I wasn’t wild about either one. Also, they have both already been reviewed, I come to realize, for FFB in the past. Unless I find something else by tomorrow, it’ll be one of those.

Barbara finished Norwegian By Night by Derek Miller, which was strongly recommended by Todd Mason. She also read Living Proof, a Charlie Resnick Novel by John Harvey. She has now started Evil in All Its Disguises by Hilary Davidson, another book we picked up at Left Coast Crime.

 

What new books did you get, and what have you been reading?

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, June 30 – July 6, 2014

  1. Been getting a lot of review copies lately. Haven’t bought much. I’m reading COLOR OF EVIL by Armando Rodera, a crime novel set in Spain with investigators Inspector Francisco Bermejo and his assistant Sgt. Pablo Roncero.

  2. Patti Abbott says:

    Just library books and I haven’t gotten through one. I am too impatient of a reader. I am always searching for a particular sort of voice and a particular sort of story. And my book group books seem to dominate even though I often would put them aside if I could.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    All the books I read were from the library. Notable first was Ten Years in the Tub: A Decade Soaking in Great Books by Nick Hornby, the complete collection of his monthly book review columns. Besides the fact that I really enjoy reading books like this, I’m always looking for new books to add to my “read me” list and I found plenty here which I’m sure you’ll read about here. One was A Cold Case, by Philip Gourevitch a short, straightforward book about the murders of two men in New York City and what suddenly motivated a soon to be retiring investigator to look for the missing killer after 30 years. Nice job and only in 200 pages.

    I liked Megan Abbott’s last two books (an aside: Honby loves her too) but liked her latest, The Fever, even more. No one gets inside the heads of teenage girls like Abbott does and she does a nice job with the hysteria so common these days.

    Lastly was the latest of Marcia Muller’s Sharon McCone books, The Night Searchers. As usual I raced through the 300 page book in about half a day.

    Up next: Emma Straub’s The Vacationers.

    Will give you the “new arrivals” a little later. Hornby influenced these choices too,.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I got five books via ABE but unfortunately two were wrong (my fault). All but the King were about $3.50 each. The King was $6.00.

    Bill Crider recommended Richard Helms (not the late CIA Director)’s thrillers and none were available in the library (they don’t get many Five Star Books, for some reason), so I decided to buy the first. Unfortunately I discovered THUNDER MOON was the second, not the first. Next time.

    The other mistake was a Hornby recommendation, William Cooper’s SCENES FROM PROVINCIAL LIFE, which I thought I was ordering. Instead I got the sequel, SCENES FROM METROPOLITAN LIFE. Again, the library didn’t have the first one.

    I’m a big fan of Jonathon King’s series about ex-Philadelphia cop Max Freeman, now living and working out of the Everglades, but for whatever reason the library didn’t buy his sixth book, MIDNIGHT GUARDIANS, so I did. (Like the Helms, this is an ex-lib book.)

    A few years ago I saw a list of the Top 10 Post-Apocalyptic books and one I’d been unable to find was James Van Pelt’s SUMMER OF THE APOCALYPSE, so I bought it. (It’s a trade pb.)

    Lastly, I’ve been reading Robert Silverberg’s Collected Stories on the Kindle (I’m waiting for Volume 9). In the last collection he had a story that was based on – sort of an answer to – C. L. Moore’s “Vintage Season” (which I’d never read). Tor published the two in one book as “SF Double #18″ and I got that one too.

  5. I’ve been fairly good of late. I picked up an ebook copy of The Martian last week when it was on sale for $5.15 as I’ve heard good things and we are reading it soon for our SF Book Club modern pick.

  6. I’ve been fairly good of late. I picked up an ebook copy of The Martian last week when it was on sale for $5.15 as I’ve heard good things and we are reading it soon for our SF Book Club modern pick.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Oh, ebooks. I didn’t even count those. I did pick up a bunch last week, mostly for free.

  8. I’ve finally got some new books to report on myself.

  9. I’m finishing up a short story anthology, OLD MARS. Diane and I plan to see a bunch of movies soon so that will cut into Reading Time.

  10. Jerry House says:

    Another crazy week as I start my stint watching four dogs, a cat, a goat, a python, a bearded lizard, and a stubborn two-year-old for my daughter who is visiting the Galapagos. Reading time and computer time are now scarce.

    Still, before I started my sitting duties I read Craig Johnson’s ANY OTHER NAME, the new Walt Longmire mystery — a good fast read. Also, a couple of Robert E. Howard collections published by Donald M. Grant — lovingly produced, albeit short, books. Also from Grant, CREEP TO DEATH, another volume of poems by Joseph Payne Brennan. The Asimov/Greenberg mystery anthology HOUND DUNNIT capped off my week.

    I don’t know if I’ll have a chance to read a femme fatale for this week’s FFB; I’ll have to see what’s on hand. I’m hoping also to get to THE CITY, the new novel by Dean Koontz. Also, due in from the library are NIGHTMARE NEED (another Brennan poetry collection, this time from Arkham House) and LORD OF THE DEAD (another Howard collection from Donald M. Grant).

    Gotta go now. I hear the damn goat bleating.

Leave a Reply

