Half Year Reading Stats

Here’s what I have read through the first two quarters – the half year of 2014. As you can see, mostly mystery and science fiction/fantasy. I’m just about at, but slightly below, my target of two books per week, 104 for the year. I did better than this last year. Must read faster!

read stats

About Rick Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in reading. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Half Year Reading Stats

  1. cindyfazzi says:

    Congrats! That’s a lot of reading!

  2. I love stuff like this. I’m a little ahead of where I was last year, which was woefully below where I was the previous couple years. If only I could read them as fast as I buy them. . . .

  3. I’m at 88 books. Roughly half are fiction and half are non-fiction. Of the fiction, it’s pretty close to being half SF and half mysteries.

  4. Richard says:

    Cindy, thanks. I usually hit the 104 mark per year, last year I did much better than that.

  5. Richard says:

    Chris, Same here with the reading / buying. I’m trying to cut back on buying, but it’s hard.

  6. Richard says:

    George, 88 is a great number. Not up in Jeff or Randy Johnson range, but very good.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    Way ahead of me. Too much on here, no doubt.

  8. Richard says:

    Patti, but look at the “general fiction” count. For me anyway those are slower books to read. You read a lot of them.

  9. Clint says:

    WOW…great job on your reads thus far. I am lucky to break 25 a year.

  10. 51, 88 and more…just how fast do you gentlemen read?! I’ll probably read that many if I stick to the Nick Carters, Mack Bolans, and James Hadley Chase.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    No, George is ahead of me this years (as he usually is), The internet is killing my reading totals. I haven’t hit 200 books since 2002. I’m only at 67.

    Prashant, you’re right about short books. Back in the early 1970’s I was reading a lot of Simenon and Erle Stanley Gardner which helped me pile up big totals. Also, most mystery novels then were 200 pages or so, which is rare these days.

    Back in college I read over 300 one year but a lot of them were plays. (333 total, 75+ plays.)

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I meant to say, 51 is pretty good.

  13. Richard says:

    Clint, thanks.

  14. Richard says:

    Prashant, I consider myself a slow reader, and often don’t do better than 80 a year, but my goal is always 2 per week. If I read thick SF novels or mystery short story collections, like that Black Mask collection I finished a few weeks go, my totals go way down. By comparison, George and Jeff are fast readers. I’d do better with more short books, but I read what I want to, not for the books read count.

  15. Richard says:

    Jeff, we’ll see how the second half works out.

  16. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’ve also read 320 short stories as of June 30.

  17. Richard says:

    Yikes. I think I’ve read about 40 so far this year.

  18. the main difference in our reading habits appears to be that you read a lot more mysteries than I do.

  19. Richard says:

    That’s true, I read almost a 50/50 mix of the two genres. But then you read horror, which I do not.

Leave a comment