New Arrivals and Current Reading, June 23 – 29, 2014

New Arrivals
The year is almost half gone, hard to believe time has gone so quickly. This time, an art book, an old mystery, more Holmes, more Saint.

Encounters with Sherlock Holmes edited by George Mann [Titan Books Febuary 2013 trade paper, purchased new] – mystery short story collection. This is one of two original story collections of Holmes pastiches that Titan Books has published. Titan has a very readable series of Holmes novels and stories in print and I have been enjoying the former. Now to try some of the latter.

Murder Underground by Mavis Doriel Hay [originally published in 1934, this edition British Library Crime Classics, 2014 paperback, purchased new] – mystery. I’m trying to catch up on some of the Golden Age lesser – or less read – women authors.

The Paleoart of Julius Csotonyi by Julius Csotonyi and Steve White [Titan Books May 2014 oversized hardcover, purchased new] – art. When I was a boy, all my friends and I were nuts about dinosaurs. I had and loved the Time-Life book about them and darn near wore it out. I still love them (my wife says I’m still a kid, too) and couldn’t pass this one up. Seems like I’m buying a lot of things published by Titan Books lately.

NOTE: Thomas & Mercer, an imprint of Amazon Publishing, is publishing this new edition of Leslie Charteris’ Saint books. There are currently 20 books available in print in the set. Whatever your “book politics”, this is good news for those who like these stories and would like to have a uniform edition, or for those who would like to try them and don’t want used copies. My only complaint with the following three books is that though they have a foreword and introduction, and even a publication history, there is no table of contents.

Enter The Saint by Leslie Charteris [Thomas & Mercer, 2014 trade paper, purchased new] – mystery short story collection. This was initially published in 1939.

Featuring The Saint by Leslie Charteris [Thomas & Mercer, 2014 trade paper, purchased new] – mystery short story collection. The stories herein were originally published in the early and mid 1930s.

The Saint in London by Leslie Charteris [Thomas & Mercer, 2014 trade paper, purchased new] – mystery short story collection. The stories here were originally published in the late 1930s and early 1940s.

Current Reading
After reading three SF novels in a row I wanted someting different so I read Jonathan Latimer’s 1936 novel The Lady in the Morgue which I posted as a Friday Forgotten Book a few days ago. I finished three Sherlock Holmes pastiches, The Will of the Dead by George Mann, The Stuff of Nightmares by , and The Gods of War also by James Lovegrove. Next up will be something for the July 11th special Friday Forgotten Book post on the femme fatale.

Barbara finished Cold Moon by Jeffrey Deaver, a book in the Lincoln Rhyme series that she had missed. She just finished Cop Hater, and says she will read another 87th Precinct novel at some point, but now she is reading Norwegian By Night by Derek Miller, which was strongly recommended by Todd Mason. I’m planning on reading it too.

What new books did you get, and what have you been reading?

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in art and illustration, Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, June 23 – 29, 2014

  1. Good looking stuff. I have most of The Saint books. A uniform set might be nice, but the cost…

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice list, though the one thing that appeals to me was the one with the Underground train on the cover. Never heard of the book or author.

    Only one new arrival last week, another of the James White Sector General books, THE GALACTIC GOURMET. I still have a book order coming.

    Three books finished, one of mine and two from the library, which brings the five I was reading down to the two non fiction books (Hornby and Malzberg). Mine was CRUCIFIXION RIVER by Marcia Muller & Bill Pronzini. The title novella was a Spur Award winner and the rest of the book is a number of stories, including one each featuring Nameless, Sharon McCone, John Quincannon and Sabina Carpenter. Only the last, joint, story seemed embarrassingly weak.

    I really liked Tom Rachman’s first book when I read it four years ago. THE IMPERFECTIONISTS is an episodic book about a struggling English language newspaper in Rome. I was looking forward to his new one which got excellent reviews but must admit that, while well written, it just didn’t have the same effect on me. THE RISE & FALL OF GREAT POWERS is about 33 year old Tooly Zylberberg and alternates between 1988, 1999 and 2011 as it tells of her bizarre life. I just couldn’t get a handle on it, which is my fault I suppose. It kept me reading to get to the end but I much prefer his earlier book.

    Lastly was THE FALL, Guillermo del Toro & Chuck Hogan’s fast moving (if downbeat) sequel to THE STRAIN. Let’s just say things are not looking good for humanity as the takeover by vampires gets closer. I’ll be reading the third book as soon as I can get it.

    My library wish list (we’re only allowed to hold 10 books) is full but I have ten books with more on the way.

  3. I’m reading Jo Nesbo’s THE SON. It’s the perfect Summer page-turner! Katie and Patrick are visiting this week (they both have a wedding to attend) so routines (like reading) are disrupted. I’m very tempted by those SAINT books!

  4. oooh, I want that Paleoart book. yeah, crazy about dinosaurs myself.

  5. Richard says:

    Return comments later, after I get back from a doctor visit and errands.

  6. Jerry House says:

    I’m a big fan of the early Saint novels, Richard. And that Holmes collections looks interesting. Never heard of the Hay book (or the author).

    Mainly short catch-as-catch can reading this week: Three by Robert E. Howard, three Pogo collections, another volume of Joseph Payne Brennan’s poems, the graphic novel DJANGO UNCHAINED, and a Reasoner/Gorman western collaboration as by “Jake Forster.”

    Hoping to get to the new Craig Johnson Longmire mystery in a couple of days.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    George, I’ve been tempted by the new Maigret translations.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    Reading THE VACATIONERS after finishing THE HOT SPOT by Williams. Also have the new Tom Rachman book onboard.

  9. Patti Abbott says:

    OOH, I just read Jeff’s review. Maybe not.

  10. Richard says:

    Patti, I always listen to Jeff when it comes to books.

  11. Richard says:

    Jeff, several good books there. I’m plugging along with the things I find here, plus a few new ones.

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Patti, you might well like it more than I did. It is well written and has interesting characters, It certainly got good reviews. But for me, I don’t know why but something was missing.

  13. Richard says:

    Jeff, I saw a review of a book by Mavis Doriel Hay – maybe on John’s Pretty Sinister blog – and thought I’d like to try one of her books.

  14. I really like those covers on The Saint books.

  15. Richard says:

    Carl, they are pretty text-design focused, but they do the job, each having an element which relates to the title or contents. As you know, my first preference is for a painted cover, but for this kind of thing, and on a tight budget, they did a pretty good job.

Leave a Reply

