ffb: Tether’s End by Margery Allingham

this is the 150th in my series of forgotten or seldom read books

Tether’s End by Margery Allingham, Carroll & Graf 1997 paperback, first published in 1934, featuring Albert Campion, amateur Sleuth

“The arrival of the bus was timed to perfection. Nobody of the slightest importance saw it at all.”

Tether's EndUnlike the larger-than-life master criminal of Mystery Mile or the politically motivated villain in Traitor’s Purse, the subject of the police pursuit, aided by Confidential Investigator Albert Campion, in this book is of a type often found in current mystery fiction: a man of no morals seeking personal gain.

Inspector Luke has a theory that a recent crime may be tied to an old one, farfetched as that may first seem. Campion becomes the sounding board for Luke’s hunch and is dragged into an intriguing case. Though the crimes occurred in the same general location, there doesn’t seem to be any common motive. It is left up to events to reveal the facts.

Annabelle Tassie has come up from the country to stay with a relation at Tether’s End, and her childhood companion Richard Waterfield who works in London has come to meet her. She’s no longer the little girl he remembers and he is struck by her beauty to the extent that he falls in love. When he sees a man coming from the house in which she will be staying, he follows to try and ascertain who he is and what his business might be. Thus begins a day which will end in terror for both Richard and Annabelle while Campion and Scotland Yard begin solving a puzzle with more pieces than expected.

This is an excellent example of Allingham’s mature writing and characterization. Campion isn’t in the least silly in this one, though he does look at events in a different way from his friends at The Yard. It’s a good thing for Annabelle that he does!

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

More Friday Forgotten Book posts
can be found at Patti Abbott’s fine blog Pattinase

 

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Friday Forgotten Book, mystery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ffb: Tether’s End by Margery Allingham

  1. I have TETHER’S END in an older edition. I really like the cover on the newer edition you read. Allingham seems to be a favorite of yours. The last Allingham I read was THE TIGER IN THE SMOKE.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    TETHER’S END was one of the first ALlinghams I read, some 40 years ago, and as such don’t have many memories of it. I read about five or six and only one since – a short story collection in 1999.

  3. Richard says:

    George, I read many of Allingham’s books in the late 1990s and took this from a review I wrote then while in DAPA-Em.

  4. Richard says:

    Jeff, see my comment above, to George. I still have some of her books unread and will get to them some day, I hope. Tiger in the Smoke is one of them.

  5. Bill Crider says:

    The only Allingham I’ve read is TIGER IN THE SMIOKE. And that was a long time ago. I liked it, as I recall, but I just never picked up any others.

  6. Jerry House says:

    Campion has gone through as many metamorphoses in character over his career as Ellery Queen has. I’ve enjoyed them all.

  7. Richard says:

    Jerry, some of the relier Campion books have him a bit silly, but his character jelled at about the fifth book or so, I think.

  8. I’ve seen this author’s name but have not read any by them.

  9. Yvette says:

    Okay I’m willing to give this one a try even if the only other Allingham book I ever read was dreadful. But so many people love her work….It makes one think: Give it a second chance. I’ll see if my library has it. Thanks, Richard.

  10. Richard says:

    Yvette, I think either this one or Traitor’s Purse will change your opinion of Allingham. If not, she just may not be for you.

  11. Pingback: Classic crime in the blogosphere – June 2014 | Past Offences Classic Crime Fiction

Leave a Reply

