artwork!

I love art and illustration, especially of science fiction subjects. I’ve got prints, some signed, hanging on the walls. In checking the website of Alison Eldred, the artist’s agent for SF artist John Harris a couple of weeks ago, I found some new things had become available. All of Harris’ art is exceptionally well envisioned and executed. There they were, right in front of me, available. The temptation was too great. I bought these two originals:

Alien Emergencies (left)
This 2001 oil painting was commissioned by Irene Gallo at Tor Books for the cover of the book by James White. Harris has produced many covers for White. Gallo tends to give the artist considerable leeway in the image produced. This allows the artist to produce some of his best work, including, I think, this one in particular. Oils on canvas, (20 x 30 in).

Mars Life sketch 2 (right)
This small (7 x 9 in) 2007 pastel is one of three sketches produced for Irene Gallo at Tor Books for the cover of Mars Life by Ben Bova in his Grand Tour series. Pastels on paper.

Though to me it’s extra special to have an original, I love prints too, and while I was shopping, I got these four prints. (sizes shown)

The originals and prints have been taken to a local frame shop, where a goodly amount of time was spent choosing mats and frames. In a few weeks, they’ll be on the wall. I am really friggin’ stoked.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in art and illustration, At Home in Portland, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to artwork!

  1. Bill Crider says:

    Don’t blame you for being stoked. These are really cool.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    They really are. I like the Alien Emergencies one of the first two but I especially like those prints. As Bill said, very cool.

    One of the few things we took from my parents’ home after my father died was this Louis Ichart Faust that I’ve liked since my childhood. My youngest sister wanted it too but tough, we got first pick. Besides, she didn’t even bother coming to the funeral (but that’s a whole other story).

  3. Richard says:

    Glad you agree, Bill.

  4. Richard says:

    Jeff, I think I’ve seen an image of that Faust before somewhere, it’s an intriguing work. The Harris prints are very cool, but the original oil is something else. Seeing it full size, it’s striking.

    By the way, there are a lot of prints available on Alison’s website.

  5. I’m with Bill and Jeff: very cool! I’ve always liked “Alien Emergencies” and “Jupiter.” A lot. I’m sure your purchases will appreciate over the years. Great investment!

  6. Art Scott says:

    There is something exceedingly satisfying about owning original illustration art, as you know I know. Thousands, maybe millions, have seen the image, but only you have the thing itself. Congratulations!

  7. Cool! I like the one on the left particularly.

  8. Richard says:

    George, yes, I like them both too, obviously. The little sketch grew on me, the more I looked at it. Because it’s unfixed pastels, it had to be framed with nothing touching the surface, which is tricky, but it will look cool. I don’t think of investment, just that I love the art.

  9. Richard says:

    Thank you, Art. You certainly do know the pleasure of owning an original; you have some really excellent ones. I’ve wanted a Harris painting for a while, but the ones I liked best were already sold. So when I saw this for sale I jumped.

  10. Richard says:

    Charles, I thought I might buy one small sketch and then bought that oil, which is my favorite too. Plus I just finished reading the book with that painting on the cover.

  11. Redhead says:

    Gorgeous! post a photo of the artwork covered wall when you’ve got everything up? please?

    Alien Emergencies is one of my favorites, and you chose some incredible prints too. And how cool to be reading a book, and then look up, and the cover is on your wall. Bragging rights indeed!

  12. Richard says:

    Thanks, Red. I’m really happy to have this artwork, especially the originals. I can hardly wait for the frame shop to call in two – or three – weeks. I don’t have a wall big enough to hold all of these, most of the walls in the house already have stuff on them, including a lot of wildlife, landscape, SF, fantasy prints and originals and original comic pages. Not to mention my wife’s quilts. Not that there aren’t spaces, and you can be sure I’ll fill them. Yes, I’ll be posting the final result.

  13. I’m super happy for you, my friend. A John Harris original is certainly something I hope to snag one day myself. The choices you made, both for the originals and the prints, are outstanding. Well done! Now I really need to make an excuse to get up to your neck of the woods so that I can see these in person!

  14. Richard says:

    Carl, thanks, I’m glad you like. We would love to have you both come for a visit!

Leave a Reply

