New Arrivals and Current Reading, June 9 – 15, 2014

A special, New Arrivals post goes up on Wednesday. Don’t miss it!

New Arrivals
Reading Alien Emergencies, the second Sector General omnibus of novels by James White (which I showed last week), I decided to get the others.

General Practice by James White [ORB 2003 trade paper, new] – science fiction omnibus containing two novels. James White’s Sector General novels are terrific. More like several long short stories strung together, each is a tale of a medical team working in or from Sector General Hospital, a 841 level inter-species medical facility. Great fun, often with intriguing puzzles. This omnibus contains the 7th and 8th Sector General novels.

Tales of Sector General by James White [Science Fiction Book Club 1999 hardcover, used] – science fiction omnibus containing three novels. This follows the book shown above, with the 9th, 10th and 11th novels.

Current Reading
I finished Alien Emergencies, consisting of three novels: Ambulance Ship , Sector General and Star Healer.  Very enjoyable, and as you have read above I decided to get two more Sector General omnibus volumes. I finished The Saint Overboard (a 1935 novel) by Leslie Charteris. I’m thinking at this point I enjoy the Saint short stories more than this novel. I haven’t decided what to read next, but it will probably be a mystery.

Barbara finished Providence Rag by Bruce DeSilva, which she enjoyed, and has started The Tip of A Bone by local Portland author Christine Finlayson, yet another book we got at Left Coast Crime in February.

What new books did you get, and what have you been reading?

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, June 9 – 15, 2014

  1. Patti Abbott says:

    I have been reading LET THE GREAT WORLD SPIN, Colum McCann. Very good but the print is so small, I can’t read it for very long. Also reading short stories by Lydia Davis.

  2. I’m still reading THE NOVEL, A BIOGRAPHY (only 400 pages to go!). I am taking short breaks to read Sharon Newman’s historical mysteries.

  3. Love the John Harris cover for that collection. I read the first Sector General story a few years back and really enjoyed it. I’ve been slowly collecting old paperback versions as I scour through used bookstores.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I did read those three Sector General titles. You’re making me think I need to get the rest of them. OK – I have the next one (Code Blue – Emergency) and ordered a couple more.

    I did get three books this week, all from paperbackswap.com, and all ordered for different reasons. First, I got a new hardback first edition in dj of Dave Barry & Ridley Pearson’s third, PETER AND THE SECRET OF RUNDOON. Next, a new paperback I didn’t know existed until a reference on one of the blogs last week led me to it: Marcia Muller & Bill Pronzini’s CRUCIFIXION RIVER, a collection of western short stories. And third, another hardback (this one ex-lib), which was recommended by .Nick Hornby in his collection of book review columns (TEN YEARS IN THE TUB): Julie Orringer’s HOW TO BREATHE UNDERWATER.

    Three books read: Peter Orner’s first (pb original) collection, ESTHER STORIES, most of them quite short. (This was from paperbackswap too.) Jeffrey Siger’s third Insp. Andreas Kaldis book, PREY ON PATMOS. Again, so far I prefer the second. Too much about the Orthodox church in this one for my taste. I kept wanting him to get back to the personal stuff. That was a library book, as was E. [mily] Lockhart’s much praised young adult book, WE WERE LIARS. It took me a while to get into this one (there is a rave from John Green on the cover) but I did eventually.

    I still have too many library books on hand, including two books I need to read next because I doubt I’ll be able to renew them: THE SHINING GIRLS and THE RISE & FALL OF GREAT POWERS. And then there is the sequel to THE STRAIN and many others,’

  5. Richard says:

    Jeff, I think you’d told me before you have read several of White’s SG books, which are more like linked short stories. Yep, Code Blue – Emergency is next. Not sure, did you mean you got a new hardcover from book swap? Really? I only find old pb things. You’re the Barry fan, but not me.

    Muller & Pronzini’s CRUCIFIXION RIVER is new to me too, but not being much of a western reader… We agree completely on the third Insp. Andreas Kaldis book, PREY ON PATMOS. “Again, so far I prefer the second. Too much about the Orthodox church in this one for my taste. I kept wanting him to get back to the personal stuff.”

    I just got Cibola Burn, the new Expanse book today, but won’t be able to read it until I finish the previous books. You said you liked THE STRAIN?

  6. I read a fair amount of James White back in the day. Interesting and different stories about space exploration. I’ve still got a couple of his around her lying unread as of yet.

  7. Richard says:

    Patti, I recently read a trade paperback with tiny print in light grey. It gave me headaches. I liked the book, but darn that small, light print. I know lighter inks are used for less show-through, but this was ridiculous. Lydia Davis sounds familiar. Lit novelist?

  8. Richard says:

    Carl, the single copy James White books are getting harder to find, at least in the used bookstores I go to. Speaking of which, be sure to tune back inhere Wednesday! I like that cover too, and a print of it is available at Alison’s website.

  9. Richard says:

    George, After finishing the 1,100 page Black Mask story collection, I read the 600 page Sector General omnibus. I’m ready for something short.

  10. I’m intrigued by your upcoming SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT on Wednesday.

  11. John says:

    I’m dipping into the contemporary this week with NORWEGIAN BY NIGHT by Derek B Miller which won the CWA John Creasey Award for “Best First Novel”. It’s being marketed as a crime novel, but IMO it’s not genre fiction at all. It’s a literary novel that happens to have crime in the plot. Smart, witty, poignant, and often profound. And the writer’s style is something to envy. Wish I could manage vocabulary and imagery and sentence structure as well as he does. So glad I cracked down and bought it. One of the few times a book that received raves transcends all the hype. Don’t read any of the reviews and ignore all the misguided and completely inappropriate comparisons that make it sound like neo-Nordic noir. Just read the book. It’s infinitely better than the catch phrases in all the advertising.

  12. Richard says:

    John, you make a very powerful case for Norwegian By Night.

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    How come I’m the only one who doesn’t get a comment?
    ;)

  14. Richard says:

    Right under your comment!

  15. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I have the fourth Siger book on reserve at the library. After getting past the early pages I did find THE STRAIN to be a page turner, so to speak. You can see where they planned it as a TV series rather than a novel from the beginning but that doesn’t make it less readable.

    Yes, I got a new hardback from the exchange as well as another ex-library hardback. I’ve listed hardbacks myself and have had to send some out over the years but I’d rather pay a little extra to see them have a good home than leave them on the shelf when I’m not going to reread them.

Leave a Reply

