New Arrivals and Current Reading, May 26 – June 1, 2014

New Arrivals
I’ve been waiting for this one since I heard it was to be published. Finally, it’s here.

Art of John HarrisThe Art of John Harris – Beyond the Horizon, art by John Harris, foreword by John Scalzi [Titan Books May 2014 oversized hardcover, purchased new] – science fiction art.

I’ve been a fan of science fiction art and illustration since I was a kid, fascinated by the wonderful art on covers of SF paperbacks and enjoying the art on the covers of, and inside, digest magazines like Galaxy, Astounding Science Fiction, Fantasy & Science Fiction and many others.

Naturally I’m drawn to the art of John Harris, whom I regard as the current master of this type of artwork. Buying this book, which I have already gone through twice, was a  must.

Some images from the book:

I might note that Harris’ sketches and pastels are as powerful and striking as his finished oil paintings (as seen in the first image, above), and the book has a nice sampling of them.

Current Reading
I finished the Donald Ransom (Ed Gorman) book The Fugitive Stars which I got after reading a review on Bill Crider’s blog. It was okay, a brief diversion, which is probably exactly what it was intended to be. I also finished Multiverse, the tribute to Poul Anderson. I’m still reading the seemingly everlasting collection, The Big Book of Black Mask Stories, with maybe a fifth of it to go. It’s very good, but very long. I’m also now reading both The Saint Overboard (1935 novel) by Leslie Charteris and The Memory Garden by Mary Rickert, which was suggested by Carl Anderson on his blog Stainless Steel Droppings (here). Both those books are from the library.

Barbara finished Hanging Hill by Mo Hayder and Field of Prey by John Sandford (library). She is currently reading Providence Rag by Bruce DeSilva, picked up at Left Coast Crime this year.

What new books did you get, and what have you been reading?

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in art and illustration, Current Reading, New Arrivals, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, May 26 – June 1, 2014

  1. I enjoyed my copy of THE ART OF JOHN HARRIS, too! Great collection of SF artwork! My sister from Arizona was visiting so my reading time declined. But I’m back to whittling down the stack of Big Fat Books (500+) pages. I’m also excited about the NY Rangers vs. LA Kings in the Stanley Cup series that starts Wednesday.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We agree on the Daniel Ransom book. Looks like Barbara really likes her reading dark. I don’t mind the occasional dark book but people like Mo Hayder are not my usual choice.

    New books: ever since I read about it I’ve wanted to read Jim Gaffigan’s Dad is Fat but the library list was very long for only a couple of copies and the same for PaperbackSwap. Finally I used it to fill out an Amazon order (Linda Ronstadt duets CD and a couple of DVD’s – season one of the US version of HOUSE OF CARDS and A Celebration of Blues & Soul: The 1989 Presidential Inaugural Concert. I hope the CD of that is released soon.

    Books read: three, all library books. First was the third in Jo Walton’s “Farthing” trilogy, Half a Crown, which brings the series to a satisfactory (if not necessarily believable) ending. I liked this one a lot. Next was Guillermo del Toro & Chuck Hogan’s The Strain, first in a horror/vampire trilogy (the second is en route to the library) which will be an FX Channel series this summer. This one is a fast read once you get into it. A plane with over 200 passengers from Germany lands on the runway at JFK and just stops. When they open the doors they find everyone dead with four exceptions. And then it turns really nasty. Last was the latest in Craig Johnson’s Sheriff Walt Longmire series, Any Other Name.

    I’m still reading the same two collections of stories, plus I’m about done with Tom Perrotta’s Thje Leftovers, coming to HBO on July 29. And yes I still have ten other library books on the shelf.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Go, Rangers!

  4. Jay Dee says:

    Nice art! That would be a great book to see.

  5. I do also love SF art, especially from around the 60s through the 80s.

  6. Jerry House says:

    A couple of old paperback collections: TALES OF CHINATOWN by Sax Rohmer and THE FIFTH TARGET BOOK OF HORROR edited by Richard Davis. From the tsunami of library books that came in: three Pogo Books (POGO EXTRA, POGO A LA SUNDAE, and POGO PUCE STAMP CATALOG), three art books from Donald M. Grant (George Barr’s UPON THE WINDS OF YESTERDAY, VIRGIL FINLAY, and VIRGIL FINLEY: AN ASTROLOGICAL SKETCH BOOK), and two by Robert E. Howard (GRAVEYARD RATS and SINGERS IN SHADOWS). Still working on Stephen King’s LISEY’S STORY,

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff, a Texas Rangers fan, eh? I just read a short story about the Rangers Air Patrol arm.

  8. Richard says:

    Jerry, still going through the Pogo books, eh? That’s not a Rohmer I have, how many stories are in it and when are they set?

  9. Jerry House says:

    Richard, I’m slowly working my way through the Pogo canon and enjoying every minute of it. TALES OF CHINATOWN was first published in 1922 (Popular Library did a paperback of it in 1950) and contains ten short stories of “oriental mystery” set in London’s Limehouse district. Some of the stories feature Rohmer’s detective Paul Harley (BAT-WING, FIRE-TONGUE) and some feature his policeman “Red” Kerry (DOPE, YELLOW SHADOWS), while others feature characters from those two series. One story, “The Hand of the Mandarin Quong,” is an outright fantasy. With Rohmer (and just about anyone else writing in that period), there’s a fair share of non-PC xenophobia.

  10. Richard says:

    Jerry, that goes hand in hand with Rohmer and his peers, I just ignore it.

  11. Pingback: new artwork! | The Broken Bullhorn

Leave a Reply

