New Arrivals and Current Reading, January 20 – 26, 2014

New Arrivals
I got Lance of Earth and Sky and Shield of Sea and Space by Erin Hoffman, the second and third volumes of the Chaos Knight trilogy.

Current Reading
I read the three books in the Chaos Knight trilogy: Erin Hoffman’s Sword of Fire and Sea, Lance of Earth and Sky and Shield of Sea and Space. The first was pretty good, the second suffers from some sophomore novel problems. In the third, Hoffman begins to pull all the threads together. I’ll post a review of the trilogy next week.

What new did you get, what have you been reading?

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, January 20 – 26, 2014

  1. Jerry House says:

    Continuing my Pronzini-thon, I read THE TORTUROR (aka, WITH AN EXTREME BURNING). I also finished Max Allan Collins’ WHAT DOESN’T KILL HER and read Ed Gorman’s THE POKER CLUB and Isaac Asimov’s YA anthology FANTASTIC READING. In graphic novels, I read Neil Gaiman’s MIDNIGHT DAYS, Bill Willingham’s TALLER TALES, and Volumes 2 and 3 of WALT KELLY’S OUR GANG.

    This coming week (and the following week) will probably be catch-up time, although I hope also to read Lisa Gardner’s FEAR NOTHING

  2. I finished Jack McDevitt’s new STARHAWK. The First Week of classes had the usual chaos. Tomorrow, wind chill temperatures here will be in the -30 degree range. I’m guessing everything will shut down tomorrow.

  3. Still not buying books. Trying to save money. I have plenty of old ones, of course.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    With everything going on the last two weeks and five days on the road I didn’t get anything read other than short stories. I’m on the last story on that Silverberg collection. I hope to get more reading done now that we’re settled in here for six weeks.

  5. Richard says:

    Jerry, you’re going to be able to write a fine overview and analysis of Bill Pronzini’s works. I haven’t read Taller Tales yet.

  6. Richard says:

    George, that’s a McDevitt I have skipped. At wc-30 everything should shut down.

  7. Richard says:

    Charles, good for you, I’m doing the same, and like you have plenty of “old” books here to read.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, I’m surprised you didn’t listen to an audio book or two on your drive. You always seem to do lots of reading in Florida. Stop bragging about your six week vacation, you’ll draw envious stares.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I prefer listening to music in the car.

    Did I mention that it was 80 in Florida today? And will be the same tomorrow, and Wednesday?

    OK, I’ll stop now.

  10. Richard says:

    Jeff, that’s too damn hot for May, let alone in January!

Leave a Reply

