New Arrivals & Current Reading, January 7 – 13, 2014

New Arrivals
Zilch. There might be a book coming, not sure.

Current Reading
Finished The Worlds of Edgar Rice Borroughs and am halfway through Back in the Garden with Dulcy, both previously mentioned here.

What new did you get, what have you been reading?

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Arrivals & Current Reading, January 7 – 13, 2014

  1. My WINTER BREAK is nearly over, but I’m still reading Big Fat Books this week. I finished the huge DANGEROUS WOMEN (the review will be up on my blog later this week). For FFB this week, I have something unusual to share.

  2. Jerry House says:

    It’s been a Walt Kelly kind of week for me — four more early Pogo collections plus the fourth volume of the collected WALT KELLY’S OUR GANG. I also read Bill Pronzini’s BLUE LONESOME and Ed Gorman’s COLD BLUE MIDNIGHT. On deck appears to be more Pronzini and Gorman.

  3. I just finished THE FEVER. Megan’s new book, which I loved. (Well, of course). Picked up THE MASTER by Colm Toibin, about Henry James and need to run down a Shirley Jackson. There are none to be found in southern Cal. Might have to do it on Kindle. Phil is reading a fabulous spy thriller by David Ignatius. I also have the Patti Smith bio to read.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    New books: none. I am awaiting five books from PaperbackSwap.com that I hope arrive by this weekend.

    Read last week: I have NO library books on hand. I finally finished (ebook) Charles Kelly’s GUNSHOTS IN ANOTHER ROOM, his biography of Dan J. Marlowe, which was fairly interesting. Also read THE MYSTERIOUS PRESS ANNIVERSARY ANTHOLOGY, which I bought for $1 last winter in Florida. (It’s a nice first edition in dj.) This was the 2001 anthology meant to celebrate 25 years of The Mysterious Press, with authors such as Marcia Muller, Joe Gores, Loren D. Estleman, Ed McBain, Stuart M. Kaminsky, etc. Many (but not all) had an “anniversary” theme.

    An aside, of sorts. Do you ever read a mystery story or novel (I know it happens when watching “mystery” shows on television) and artway through you think, “Hey, I know exactly where this is going. Agatha Christie did it 90 years ago.” ? Well, Beth Saulnier tries to fool readers in the last story in the book and it was blindingly obvious where it was going almost from the beginning. There may not be much new under the sun but at least try and disguise it a little.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    This was supposed to say “part way” up there.

  6. Evan Lewis says:

    Someone at our house is reading Back in the Garden with Dulcy, too. It ain’t me. I’m reading Saint Johnson by W.R. Burnett.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I did read a single ebook story today that was a lot of fun, by the way – Lawrence Block’s “Cleveland in My Dreams.”

    I must admit when I downloaded it, it was cheaper than $2.99.

  8. Richard says:

    George, I’ll look forward to that ffb.

  9. Richard says:

    Jerry, I’m starting to think you’re getting into a rut with the Gorman, Pronzini, Pogo. Not a bad rut, but a rut nevertheless.

  10. Richard says:

    Evan, I just finished it. I enjoyed the columns and her sense of humor.

  11. Richard says:

    Patti, I’m sure you liked The Fever, and assume everyone else will too.

  12. A few ebooks from friends is all I’ve gotten.

  13. Richard, I’m reading a vintage murder mystery by Arthur Griffiths that I hope to review soon.

Leave a Reply

