My 2013 reading, by type, per quarter

I keep a record of what I read; title, author, genre, date read and a short comment or rating of 1-5 stars. Here’s the reading for the year, broken down by genre and quarters. I’ll post specific favorites soon.

13 book by quarter table

My annual goal is always two books per week, 104 total, so 115 books for the year is eleven better than the goal, but the year could have been better if things hadn’t fallen off that fourth quarter.

I’m not sure why that falloff happened, but I was in some sort of malaise. I hope to shake that now that the holidays are over.

I read a lot more mystery than anything else in 2013, including a whole lot of Judge Dee novels and stories. Usually the SF-F and Mystery are pretty even. I also read a little more non-fiction than usual. Overall, an interesting reading year.

If you care to share your 2013 reading totals, this is the place.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in reading. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to My 2013 reading, by type, per quarter

  1. Bill Crider says:

    I wish I kept records of any kind at all. But I don’t. This is very cool.

  2. Jay Dee says:

    I should think about doing something like this. I love statistics.

  3. Richard says:

    Bill, you may recall I always put these etas into The Perp, back in apa days.

  4. Richard says:

    Jay, the hardest part is just getting started. I started doing reading stats, as eel as cataloging my library, in the early 1970s.

  5. I’ll try to do a REPORT in my ACCESS book data base and come up with some numbers. I did read 160 books in 2013, not counting magazines, work related stuff, and blogs.

  6. I used to try to keep up with this sort of thing and kept losing my way.

  7. Oh, by the way, WordPress has took a notion to let me add media to posts again. For the time being, I may keep both, but transition slowly back as long as it allows me to post decent articles.

  8. My totals were pretty low in that I only completed 35 “books”, but did read several additional SFF magazines and loose short stories. Still, my reading was down overall from the previous few years. Hope to get more done read this year.

  9. Very impressive Richard – congrats – at best I thinbk I manage about 60% of your total – clearly must try harder!

  10. John says:

    I read 102 books out of 125 attempted. I threw in the towel on a lot of books this year. I just can’t be bothered anymore to finish books that are bad or bore me. A note at the end of the April list says I started then abandoned five or more books and I wrote down none of those titles! Clearly I was distracted that month. Read only one non-fiction book, eleven less than I had planned in one of my resolutions to read a non-fiction book each month. Mostly my list consists of genre fiction with detective and mystery taking the grand prize. Something I am proud of as someone who appears to read only books long out of print written by people who have been dead for decades was the increased number of books I read that were published in 2012 and 2013. New books numbered 20 of which about half were review copies.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, I’ll do a breakdown for you as soon as I do one. I did read exactly the same number of books as last year – 129. Damn you, internet!

  12. Richard, your numbers are truly impressive. I barely touched 50 last year. Hopefully, this year will be better.

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    OK, totals as follows –

    Total read 129 of which only 8 were non fiction. Of the fiction, with short story collections in ( ):

    mystery 75 (15)
    sf 18 (12)
    horror 6 (4)
    fantasy 2 (1)
    juvenile 2
    fiction 17 (9)
    young adult (overlaps several of the other categories) 7

    20 were ebooks.

    My short story totals were 676 read (down from 727 the year before. 41 books of stories (up from 38).

    Most stories read by author:

    Robert Silverberg 86
    Peter Orner 45
    Clark Howard 29
    de Camp & Pratt 28

  14. My list is back in Michigan but I am lucky to read a book a week. I spend way too much time online, I know. I used to read 2 a week. I would say they are about evenly spaced between crime and regular novels with a fair scattering of non-fiction. I read short stories a lot, of course, No fantasy or science fiction. I just don’t get it. Hard enough to learn the perimeters of this world for me.

  15. I did some queries in ACCESS. I read 50,070 pages last year. That sounds like a lot, but I seem to read a lot of Big Fat Books when I’m not working. Of the 160 books I read last year, 80 were non-fiction and 80 were fiction (it just worked out that way). The books were 45 percent paperbacks and 50 percent hardcovers, and 5 percent ebooks. I used to read over 200 books a year, but I’m slowing down in my Old Age.

  16. Richard says:

    Jeff, nice numbers indeed. You and George keep more complete records than I do. That you read 676 short stories is jaw dropping. In November – December I managed only about 40.

  17. Richard says:

    Patti, a book a week isn’t back, and you read a lot of novels that take some time to digest. You always say that about SF-F, but it’s just novels and stories in a different setting.

  18. Richard says:

    George, you’re not slowing down, you’re just becoming more contemplative.

Leave a Reply

