New Arrivals, Current Reading December 23 – 29, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
This is the Christmas edition of NACR, so it’s no surprise that these are gifts from and to Barbara and me. I have a habit of buying things months ahead and asking Barbara to put them away for Christmas, so some of these were purchased months ago but never touched until now. We had a great Christmas day, and hope you did too.

A Darkness More Than Light by Michael Connelly [Grand Central 2002 mass market paperback, new] – mystery featuring both Terry McCaleb and Harry Bosch, a gift for Barbara though I’ll read it too.

Legacies by F. Paul Wilson [Tor Forge 1998 mass market paperback, new] – mystery. Second Repairman Jack novel. A gift for Barbara.

Scratch One and Easy Go by Michael Crichton writing as John Lange [Hard Case Crime trade paper, new] – mystery-adventure. After reading several positive reviews of the John Lange books, I decided to put some on my wish list and got these.

Walt Kelly, The Life and Art of the Creator of Pogo by Thomas Andrae and Carsten Laqua [Hermes Press 2012 oversize hardcover, new] – biography. I’ve loved Pogo since I was a tad, and this looks like it will be a great book to read.

Pogo – Bona Fide Balderdash, The Complete Syndicated Comic Strips, volume 2 – series edited by Karen Kelly and Kim Thompson, foreword by Stan Freberg [Fantagraphics 2012 oversized hardcover, new] – graphic comics collection. I have the first volume and have read it with great amusement, this will be read with equal joy.

The Twelve Clues of Christmas by Rhys Bowen [Berkley Prime Crime 2013 mass market paperback, new] – mystery. It’s not too late to read a Christmas novel and this light and easy novel is the one I’m going to read.

The Big Book of Christmas Mysteries edited and with an introduction by Otto Penzler [Vintage Crime 2013 trade paper, new] – mystery story collection. I learned of this fat (650 page) collection from George Kelley. A mention to “Santa” and it was under the tree.  I’m not sure if I’ll start on it now or save it for the 2014 Christmas season.

Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard, Volume Two edited by David Peterson [Archania Press 2013 hardcover, new] – graphic novel stories. My love of David Peterson’s Mouse Guard is only tempered by the glacial pace of new material. These Mouse Guard stories by other writer-illustrators help fill the gaps.

Back in the Garden with Dulcy by Dulcy Mahar, compiled and edited by Ted Mahar [Carpe Diem Books 2013 hardcover, new] – collection of gardening columns. Dulcy Mahar was a weekly gardening columnist for The Oregonian for years, blending a practical view of everyday gardening with wit and common sense wisdom. After her death in 2011, her husband and the newspaper worked together to produce this collection of her columns, which was published in November. I only wish it was thicker.

Grasses by Nancy J. Ondra [Storey 2002 trade paper, new] – gardening, specifically on ornamental grasses. Both of us appreciate the role grasses play in our garden and added new ones this last Summer to enhance the overall design. Now we can learn – perhaps add – more.

The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook  [OP Press 2008 hardcover, new] – cookbook. We have a handful of “standards” we use, mostly healthy heart, Weight Watchers, casserole and the indispensable Joy of Cooking and Alton Brown Good Eats books, but every now and then we like to pick up something a little different. Cookbooks are a lot of fun!

MY CURRENT READING:
I finished the Mouse Guard Legends of the Guard right away. I’m halfway through Worlds of Edgar Rice Burroughs edited by Mike Resnick, and enjoying it. I’m going to treat myself with one of the Christmas gift books and will keep on truckin’ with the books at hand.

Did you get anything new? What have you been reading?

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in art and illustration, biography - autobiography, Current Reading, gardening, Humor, mystery, New Arrivals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading December 23 – 29, 2013

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice haul. Let me warn you, however, that for me at least EASY GO (aka THE LAST TOMB) was not the best of the Crichton/Lange books. It does have a con game and a “lost” Egyptian tomb but somehow I had a tough time getting through it as compared with books like GRAVE DESCEND or ZERO COOL.

    But your mileage may vary.

  2. Great list of Christmas gifts, and what better way to get new current arrivals than by having them gifted to you? :)

    I started getting my wife the Rhys Bowen series back when they first came out and she gobbles up each new volume as they come out.

    I picked up the second Mouse Guard collection at SFAL2 this past may from Peterson. He was a surprise guest and was very popular. We are all hoping he comes back in 2014.

    I got a bunch of books off my wishlist for Christmas too and am most pleased. I plan to spend the rest of 2013 sampling them.

  3. Plenty of goodies! I know you’ll like that big book of Christmas mysteries. I agree with Jeff on the Lange books. As promised, I’m reading Big Fat Books now that I’m on vacation. You’ll be seeing reviews next week.

  4. Haven’t read the Crichton ones but might do so. I read one of the Lange books. Don’t remember that much about it. I’ve got the Mouse Guard book. very cool.

  5. Richard says:

    Jeff, I didn’t have any guideline on okay/better choices for the Lange, and it seems I didn’t get the good ones. Darn.

  6. Richard says:

    Carl, I have met and talked with her at a Left Coast Crime con and have read a couple of the Evans books by Bowen, so I thought this more historical novel might be fun. Peterson was at SFAL? Wow, did he have any original art to sell or was he sketching? This Mouse Guard book just came out two weeks ago, maybe you got the volume one, or The Legend of the Black Axe? Did you notice, no SF-F this year.

    Glad you got goodies too, hope you post them.

  7. Richard says:

    Thanks, George, I’ll be looking for those reviews.

  8. Richard says:

    Charles, I really enjoy Peterson’s art and storytelling, I just wish he was more productive. Yet quality can’t be rushed, I guess.

  9. Patti Abbott says:

    I got THE ART FORGER (Shapiro), THE GHOST WRITER, (John Harwood) and THE FEVER (Megan Abbott), an ARC. Oh and the Edna O’Brien trilogy.

  10. Richard says:

    Sounds great, Patti. Lots of good reading there, esp Fever.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I did get one book this week (from paperbackSwap.com): Isaac Asimov, ed. THE GREAT SF STORIES 21 (1959). The first story was particularly interesting to me as it was one of Lawrence Block’s first stories, written at age 20, and (possibly) his only sf story.

  12. Jerry House says:

    Looks like you have a lot of good reading ahead of you, Richard.

    I finished ELLERY QUEEN: THE ART OF DETECTION, HEAD GAMES by Christopher Golden, and Volume One of the Deluxe Edition of FABLES by Bill Willingham. Continuing my Pronzini-thon, I finished the collections SLEUTHS and SPADEWORK. I also looked through Pronzini’s CARPENTER AND QUINCANNON: PROFESSIONAL DETECTIVE SERVICES and found it was, except for a forward and an appendix, the same as the later published BURGADE’S CROSSING; the latter book gave no indication of this.

    Right now I’m reading an early Ramsey Campbell horror novel, THE PARASITE.

  13. He did have original art to showcase but not for sale. He was a surprise guest in that he came with a group of friends and set up in their booth. Only got to see him briefly as he was understandably mobbed by fans.

  14. Richard says:

    Jerry, I have that CARPENTER AND QUINCANNON: PROFESSIONAL DETECTIVE SERVICES but haven’t cracked it yet.

  15. Richard says:

    Carl, yes I bet he was mobbed.

Leave a Reply

