New Arrivals, Current Reading December 16 – 22, 2013

We’re about as ready for Christmas here as can be, now it’s a matter of indulging – or over indulging – in the joys of the season.

NEW ARRIVALS:
Nothing new, as usual, but next time there will be a new stuff post on Christmas goodies.

MY CURRENT READING:

I’ve been too busy with holiday stuff to read much, though I’ve been enjoying the Worlds of Edgar Rice Burroughs story collection. For now I’ve set aside The Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories and will resume reading it in January. 

Hope you all have a terrific Christmas holiday!

Did you get anything new? What have you been reading?

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading December 16 – 22, 2013

  1. Jerry House says:

    I’m of two minds about Dean Koontz’s INNOCENCE, which I finished this week, a good book with a frustrating ending. But there’s no wavering about the merits of the other three novels I read this week: Bill Pronzini’s THE CRIMES OF JORDAN WISE, F. Paul Wilson’s THE FIFTH HARMONIC, and Pronzini and Marcia Muller’s THE SPOOK LIGHTS AFFAIR — entertaining, all three. I’m currently into Francis M. Nevins’ ELLERY QUEEN: THE ART OF DETECTION. I have a few more Pronzinis at the top of Mt. TBR, and a two-volume collection of correspondence between H. P. Lovecraft and August Derleth is due in from the library.

    I hope Santa has piled his sleigh with some very good reading for you, Richard. Have a great Christmas!

  2. macavityabc says:

    Just finished reading Zelazny’s A NIGHT IN THE LONESOME OCTOBER for the second time. A report coming up on Friday for the FFB meme. Merry Christmas!

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Can’t wait to see what goodies you get under the tree. No new books here this week.

    Reading. Two library books finished this week. The more substantial was yet another I heard about from that memoir book I read a while back: Andre Dubus III, TOWNIE: A Memoir. Let me quote James Lee Burke from the back cover: “The best first person account of an author’s life I have ever read. I sincerely believe Andre Dubus III is the best writer in America. His talent is enormous. No one who reads this book will ever forget it.”

    Agree or not, it is a book I would definitely recommend. I have his new collection from the library. The second book read was one I wasn’t aware of when it came out, Brian Garfield’s CHECKPOINT CHARLIE. Charlie Dark is a fat (very), arrogant CIA spy sent as a troubleshooter around the world by his hateful boss. These are enjoyable without being any way deep.

    I’m reading Chris Knopf’s second Arthur Cathcart book now, CRIES OF THE LOST.

    I would second Jerry’s high praise for THE CRIMES OF JORDAN WISE, by the way.

    Hope you have a great Christmas. We had a record 71 degrees yesterday but the high on Wednesday might not top 30.

  4. cgramlich says:

    Nothing new for a while here

  5. I agree with Jerry and Jeff on THE CRIMES OF JORDAN WISE. I’m on vacation for a month but reading Big Fat Books will have to wait until after the holidays.

  6. Richard says:

    Jerry, as I said, I seem to be reading at a snail’s pace. I probably should say a slug’s pace as we seem to have many – vast amounts – of slugs but no snails. The Burroughs collection is just about right. It seems I have little to do today and so may get some reading done. Based on your and other comments I’ll read the Pronzini. I haven’t read one of his in years, though I like all that I’ve read.

    Mike Nevins does some great stuff, but I’m the exception, I don’t care much for the Queen books, so maybe that book isn’t for me. Is it a biography of them or just an analysis of the books, or?

    Thanks for the Christmas wishes.

  7. Richard says:

    Bill, Patti isn’t doing an FFB this coming Friday, so if you do a book only your “scroll through and see everything” readers will see it. I’ll be skipping both December 27 and January 3, and just posting New Arrivals on the 29th.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, 71 yesterday! Wow. Fans going to the Super Bowl in a few weeks better have their shorts, Hawaiian shirts, shades and sun block. Meanwhile it stays rainy, in the 40s days and high 20s at night.

    I read about half of one of the Charlie Dark books years ago, don’t recall why I didn’t finish it. I’m not familiar with Dubus. Sound’s like a book I’d try if I weren’t feeling so overwhelmed with what’s on hand. For a moment I thought the Jordan Wise title might be a C&L title, so I would have it, but no, apparently not.

  9. Richard says:

    George, vacation for a month. You must be reading SOMETHING. Assume you now have the family gathered together and the yule log burning, at least figuratively. By the way, how many pages does it take for a book to qualify as a Big Fat Book? Or is that just a descriptive of something huber serious instead of light?

  10. My definition of a Big Fat Book is a book 500+ pages. I have a couple of 800-page tomes waiting for me.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, I’ve been a big fan of his father (Andre Dubus)’s stories for years. I also read his (the senior Dubus) account of being run down by a car – much like Stephen King years later, but with a much worse outcome. It led to his death 12 years later. The son’s memoir sounded interesting and it is.

Leave a Reply

