Please, sir, I want some more. Part 3

Unfortunately, I have bad news to report on the bookcases front.

After the carpenter who previously installed bookcases for us came out, measured, discussed our wants and budget, he said he’d get right back to us with a bid, we heard nothing. After two weeks, I called and left a message saying we needed a status report.

By an email he answered:

“I’ve been distracted with eminent career changes that have overtaken my usual routine and enthusiasm. I haven’t worked up a formal bid even now, again, sorry. Neither of my buddies would take on the project, and while I could build them myself my enthusiasm is lacking. [That's] not logical nor defensible but is why your project remains stuck on my mental back burner. Meanwhile I’ve been researching and organizing a new business venture for buying, renovating and reselling houses (flipping). I have sufficient capital, and am finalizing a formula for the types and locations of target houses. This is where my passion lies.”

So that’s a bust, and considering his attitude and lack of motivation, it’s just as well. We’re back to square one, but have some other leads and will be talking to some other people soon. I’m thinking we may look into some custom unfinished bookcases. We can do the staining ourselves and save a good deal. There’s a place downtown that may work.

This is all taking longer than I want, but as they say, patience is a virtue.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Please, sir, I want some more. Part 3

  1. Wow, that’s one moody carpenter! Flipping houses is not as easy as this guy thinks it’s going to be. Hassles galore!

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We did get unfinished bookcases and stain them ourselves back these many years ago and it came out fine. Yes we saved a lot of money that way.

  3. Bill Crider says:

    The carpenter is a different kind of guy, isn’t he. I hope you find someone who can do a good job for you.

  4. Richard says:

    Yes Bill, he is. The thing that floored us is that before when he did work for us he was really nice, dedicated to the job, on time and did great work. We couldn’t be happier with the bookcases he built in in two rooms. In the last 18 months he’s done a turn-around, apparently. We have hopes for the guy I’ll be talking to later this week.

  5. Richard says:

    George, you’re right, I doubt he’s thought it all through. Based on this experience, I’d probably not buy one of his flipped houses.

  6. Richard says:

    Jeff, I got the photo, and they do look good. I wish we had that much room!

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    Our carpenter was a lawyer who couldn’t get into that job. A strange bunch, I guess.

  8. Richard says:

    Strange indeed, Patti. I had thought with the economy still not back to normal, a self employed carpenter would jump at the job, but obviously not.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We are lucky that we have a 20 foot long wall in our den to fill with the bookcases we had.

  10. I’m glad he was honest with you even if you had to track him down to get the honest response. If I put on my armchair psychology hat his response appears to me to be stereotypical of a certain ‘creative type’. Ultimately you want someone working on your shelves that is as excited to give you what you want as you are to get it and so I hope that you can find someone soon that will fill that role.

Leave a Reply

