New Arrivals and Current Reading February 18 – 24, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS - I went booking with my friend Dave Lewis last week and picked up four books, all used. Titles and descriptions of those four below the images.

Alien Art by Gordon Dickson [Ace 1973 mass market paperback, used] – science fiction – I love the Dorsai books by Dickson, and am always on the lookout for other novels by him. This looked particularly interesting.

Bright of the Sky by Kay Kenyon [PYR 2007 trade paper, used] – science fiction – Book One of The Entire and the Rose – strong reviews on this when it came out led me to put it on my Bookswap Wist List, and it finally popped up. Intriguing cover by Stephan Martiniere.

Charlie Chan Carries On by Erle Der Biggers [Academy Chicago 2009 trade paper, used] – mystery – this is the 5th book in the Chan series. I have the first four and a couple of others, but was missing this so when I spotted it in a used book store I picked it up.

Life at Blandings by P.G. Wodehouse [Penguin 1981 trade paper, used] – humor – contains three novels: Something Fresh, Summer Lightning and Heavy Weather. I have a Wodehouse short story collection but not any of the novels and have not read these, so when I came across this I decided to pick it up. More fallout from George’s blog, I’m afraid.

Space Tug by Murray Leinster [Pocket Book 1953 mass market paperback, used] – science fiction – you can’t beat these old SF titles by Leinster and similar authors. I read this one so long ago I can’t remember anything but the title, so I had to snap it up at Powell’s.

CURRENT READING – I finished Eric Wright’s The Night the God’s Smiled, first in the Inspector Charlie Salter series. I’m now reading Smoke Detector, the 2nd Salter mystery, which I got from the library. I’m continuing to read in various short story collections, of which there are a plethora. Since I have recently picked up several Perry Mason books, as mentioned last week plus some more I got here in town, I’ll be reading more of those, as well as whatever else my hand lands on.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in books, Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading February 18 – 24, 2013

  1. Love the covers on all these. Great finds! I especially like those versions of the Wodehouse books. I haven’t read all of his novels, but of those I’ve read the first Blandings novel, Something Fresh, is my favorite. It has a nice romantic element amidst all the humor that makes it stand out to me.

  2. Richard says:

    Carl, I thought if you commented it would be about the old Murray Leinster book, Space Tug and the Martinere cover. I don’t know when I’ll get to the Wodhouse, there are so many things stacked up.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice pickups. I went back to that $1 bookstore last week and found only one book I had to have but it was a good one. It was a first edition, nearly new in dj, of The Mysterious Press Anniversary Anthology: Celebrating 25 Years, with all new short stories written for the book by Estleman, Crumley, Gores, Lansdale, Lovesey, Kaminsky, Maron, McBain, Muller and Westlake, among others. Looks good.

    I finished the anthology Both Barrels: 29 Tales of Crime, which I found uneven, though there were some good stories in it. Also read the fourth book in Nathan Lwell’s Ishmael Wang series, Double Share, which I didn’t like as much as the first three because of the new situation Ishmael finds himself in. Looking forward to the next one.

  4. Richard says:

    Jeff, that anthology sounds like a good one. I thought each successive Nathan Lowell book declined from the previous one, and after #3 decided to stop. Too bad, because the first book held great promise.

  5. Love the cover on SPACE TUG! You’re right about classic SF writers like Leinster. You can’t go wrong with Wodehouse. I’ve found the Charlie Chan books to be uneven.

  6. I should have, I do love the Space Tug cover. That isn’t my favorite Martiniere, but I do like it. I’ve heard some good things about Kay Kenyon.

Leave a Reply

