FFB: Death in the Old Country by Eric Wright

this is the 105th in my series of forgotten or seldom read books

Death in the Old Country by Eric Wright © date 1985, Charles Scribner 1985 hardcover - mystery – 3rd Inspector Charlie Salter. (later paperback cover shown)

Death in the Old CountryAfter reading the fine review of this book last week over on the blog In Reference To Murder , I decided I had to read it. I highly recommend you follow the link to hop over there and read that review, as it’s much more complete and in depth than my scribblings here. You might want to do that now, then pop back here for the rest of this one.

I picked up a copy one afternoon at the library, and finished it that night. Now, it usually takes me two or three days to read even a moderately sized book – I’m not a fast reader – so for me to get through a 175 page book in an afternoon and evening is unusual, and an indication that it’s an easy, entertaining book. I like that this book has a straight-forward plot, told in third person without any alternate points of view, flashbacks or anything else to detract from the story. Wright does a nice job with character, place, plot.

Death in the Old Country by Eric Wright is about a Canadian homicide Inspector, Charlie Salter, who, with his wife Annie, is on holiday in England. They decide to stay an extra day or two at a B&B with excellent food, hoping to let the downpour subside before moving on to the Lake District. On their third day a murder occurs, and naturally Salter is pulled in, somewhat reluctantly, by the local coppers.

The plot contains some twists, and I saw the somebody-masquerading-as-somebody-else plot point coming from a distance, but that took none of the enjoyment of the reading. I’m now looking to get the first in the series, The Night the Gods Smiled and read that one. I like Salter and want to read more of his adventures.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

The rest of the Friday Forgotten Book posts
can be found at Todd Mason’s blog Sweet Freedom

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in books, Friday Forgotten Book, Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to FFB: Death in the Old Country by Eric Wright

  1. I have a few Eric Wright books around here. After reading your review, I need to read one. The Perry Mason bag of books is winging its way to you.

  2. Richard says:

    Great, George, thanks. I liked the book and it was an easy, enjoyable read.

  3. cgramlich says:

    Don’t think I’ve ever read anything by Wright. More books to discover and explore. :)

  4. Not familiar with Wright or his work. Something else on the to-read list.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    Now I will be looking for it too. Two people recommending it is more than double the recommendation for me.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’ve read almost all of Wright’s books – all the Charlie Salter series – and like them very much. Like Peter Robinson (Wright is somewhat older) he was born in England and moved to Canada as an adult. There was a good collection of his stories published by Crippen & Landru (A Killing
    Climate: Collected Mystery Stories
    ) as well. I also read his evocatively titled memoir, Always Give a Penny to the Blind Man.

    I just wish he was still writing Charlie Salter books.

  7. Richard says:

    Wow, Jeff, you’re way ahead of me as usual. I must have that Wright ss collection, I have almost all the C&L books, but didn’t even think of it when I read that first review. I’ll also have to look for that memoir.

    Patti, add Jeff Meyerson to the list of fans of the Salter books.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, that comes from too many years of reading 80-90% mysteries. There are a lot of authors out there that I’ve read.

  9. Yvette says:

    This sounds like something I’d be interested in, Richard. I lately seem to be in a mellow frame of mind and this looks good. I’ll see if my library has it. I’ve never heard of this guy so thanks for the intro.:)

  10. That sounds good, Richard. I too like to read a nice straight-forward story. I also love it when I am on a blog and a person’s review compels me to drop everything and read that book NOW.

  11. Richard says:

    Yvette, it’s always nice to have you drop by. I’m picking up the first in the series at the library today.

    Carl, maybe that will happen when you visit here one day.

  12. TracyK says:

    I am late commenting here, but I was glad to see this review because I want to try this Canadian author. Good to hear that you really enjoyed the book.

  13. Richard says:

    Tracy, I went on to read the first two in the series. Though not quite as enjoyable for me as this one, they are worth reading and the character development makes reading in order worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

