New Arrivals, Current Reading, January 28 – February 3, 2013

It’s warmed up enough and the rain is less steady and we’re getting out and walking, which is good for me. I’ll lose some reading time today due to watching the Super Bowl.

NEW ARRIVALS - I’m continuing to pick up Walter Satterthwait’s Joshua Croft novels from BookSwap. I have them all now. Also an add to a fantasy series I’ve been working on (sorta) and a novel I bought based on a review in Friday Forgotten Books. This is all Patti Abbott’s fault. Listings and descriptions below the images.

Antiphon by Ken Scholes [Forge 2011 mass market paperback, new] – fantasy – the third in the Psalms of Isaak series. I’ve only read part of the first, but decided to get the second and this one anyway.

At Ease with the Dead by Walter Satterthwait [Worldwide 1991 mass market paperback, used]  AND – The Hanged Man by Walter Satterthwait [Worldwide 1995 mass market paperback, used] -two mystery novels – second and fourth in the Joshua Croft series – I’m picking up all of these, some I’ve read, some not, but none seem to have made the move to Portland. Now I’ll have them all again.

The Interlopers by Griffling Bancroft by [HardPress Classics trade paper, new] – novel –  this is a western, historical novelorigina;;y published in 1917. This reproduction print has the original illustrations by Arthur D. Fuller. The review I read, perhaps on Ron Scheer’s blog Buddies in the Saddle, got me to look for this. I believe it’s being printed POD. Not sure when I’ll get to this, I’ll have to be in the right mood, but one of these days.

CURRENT READING – I decided to reread Charles Gramlich’s Talera cycle. I’m done with the first book, Swords of Talera and two-thirds through the second book, Wings Over Talera. Fun books. If you haven’t read them, you should.

I finished Archie Meets Nero Wolfe, which was okay but I didn’t find it up to the Rex Stout standard. I then re-read a Nero Wolfe book, Not Quite Dead Enough which contains two novelettes, the title piece and Booby TrapAs always, I’m still working away on the Black Lizard Book of Black Mask Stories collection. I have set aside The Complete Father Brown collection to concentrate on the other short story collections I’d started. I read and enjoyed A Dangerous Thing by Bill Crider, but that’s no surprise, his books are great.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in books, Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, January 28 – February 3, 2013

  1. Bill Crider says:

    I really liked Walter Satterthwait’s p.i. series. I hear he’s working on a sequel to MISS LIZZIE at the moment.

  2. Always fun to see what you’ve purchased as more often than not I read of authors I had not previously heard of.

    I’m positive I’ve read some short fiction by Scholes but I have a really hard time keeping mental track of all the short fiction I read. I should do a better job of cataloging that somehow.

  3. Like Carl, I’ve read some short fiction by Scholes, too. I’ll wait and see what you think of Scholes’ novels before I start looking for those books.

  4. cgramlich says:

    So glad you are enjoying the Talera books. I’m having fun working on the fourth one right now. Gonna be a good while before it’s done, but I’m enjoying revisiting these characters.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    One good thing about being down here – no new books coming in, other than a handful of ebooks. I did finish a couple of the latter, Brendan DuBois’s Death of a Gemini, military short stories, and Lawrence Block’s Afterthoughts, his collection of afterwords to ebook publications of his many books over the years.

    I’m way ahead of last year’s pace on short stories, as I read 62 in January.

  6. Richard says:

    Carl, of course just because I get them doesn’t mean I’ll read them real soon. I’m a list maker, cataloger, but I don’t list individual short stories I read, only collection / anthology titles.

    George, as I just said to Carl, not sure when I’ll get to them.

  7. Richard says:

    Charles, they’re a lot of fun. This is a re-read, but I’m catching a lot of stuff I missed the first time through.

    Jeff, 62 stories? God’s teeth, you must not sleep. I still haven’t read an e-book, though I do have a few on the Macs.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    In Siberia by Per Petterson and Tijuana Straits by Ken Nunn.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    That’s only two stories a day. That’s why I’m not getting novels read, however. Some of the stories have been fairly short.

  10. Yvette says:

    I love the Joshua Croft books, Richard. But I was very disappointed in Satterthwaite’s other books. But it’s probably just me since they seem to be very popular. But you can’t go wrong with Croft. I wonder that the author never continued the series.

Leave a Reply

