New Arrivals, Current Reading, January 14 – 20, 2013

Yes, I’m a bad person. Okay, I’m not really a bad person, I just can’t seem to reign in my desire for more books and music. Sigh. I’ll keep working on it. Meanwhile…

NEW ARRIVALS - It should be no surprise to anyone who reads this blog regularly that I love soundtracks. After watching the Golden Globe Awards, I ordered some of the nominated soundtracks plus one for a non-nominated film. Four in all, and the book of one of the films.  The other book has been on my wishlist for a while but got passed by so I gave it to myself. Thank you to me. Listings and descriptions below the images.

A Late Quartet – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack music by Angelo Badalamenti [Sony/Decca Records 2012, new] – soundtrack music – I’d seen no mention of this film, which opened in early November in New York, until I came across this soundtrack recording. The film, which I intend to see, has long come and gone here, pushed out of the theaters by Lincoln, Skyfall and The Hobbit, (I have all those soundtracks, too) but I’m hoping it will show up on Netflix soon. Meanwhile this will have to do. What’s not to like about a film whose music and soundtrack centers around Beethoven’s String Quartet #14 in C Sharp? Badalamenti has written original themes and connecting music as well.

Life of Pi – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack music by Michael Danna [Fox Music - Sony Classical 2012, new] – soundtrack music – This is the soundtrack that won the Golden Globe and it’s a fine one. None of your loud blasting drum-heavy stuff (listen to Skyfall for that) here, this is serene, almost meditative music.

Life of Pi by Yann Martel [Houghton Mifflin, Mariner Books 2003 trade paper edition, new] – novel – I’d heard about it for a while, maybe read a review but when the film came out I decided to read it.

Lincoln – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack music by John Williams [Sony 2012, new] – soundtrack music –  In whole, very nice though there are three not terrific cues, at least not to my liking even if I can understand them within the framework of the film.

Skyfall - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack music by Thomas Newman [Columbia Pictures, Sony Music 2012, new] – soundtrack music – I find it interesting that Sony releases it’s soundtrack recordings under it’s Sony Classical label, but then I have long espoused that original soundtrack music is the classical music of our time. This is a good one if you like lots of throbbing drum and repeated themes, which I do, sometimes.

Welcome Home, Major Bearclaw by Melanie Bacon [Lagogoss Books 2012 trade paper, new] – mystery novel – another book I bought based on a review, either on line or in Mystery Scene magazine. The premise: When Major Ernie Bearclaw returns to the States after his Mideast deployment he finds chaos on the rez, in his home, and in his bed. Ernie speaks up. And then he’s shot. Now Ernie’s in a coma and his family, enemies and grateful nation are trying to figure out who shot him and why. Sounds interesting.

CURRENT READING – I’m still working away on the Black Mask collection and have read the first two stories in The Complete Father Brown collection I got last week. I also have read 8 or 10 stories in the Harry Harrison collection 50 in 5o. The other short story anthology I’m reading are When the Villain Comes Home. That’s four and as noted in my recent post, it’s a struggle, but I’m taking it easy and reading whatever of the four I feel like. I still may begin or get back to a novel soon. Oh, wait. The library emails me and guess what? Three books come in off of holds, all at once. So the other reading is on hold. I’m reading Apollo’s Outcasts by Allen Steele, Target Lancer by Max Allan Collins and A Dangerous Thing by Bill Crider, a Carl Burns mystery I thought I’d read but since I’m not sure I’ll read it (or re-read it, as the case may be) now.

 

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in books, Current Reading, Music, New Arrivals, Saturday Soundtrack and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, January 14 – 20, 2013

  1. John says:

    I enjoyed Life of Pi despite all the hoopla he he was accused of plagiarism and admitted he had the read the book in question and said he had borrowed from it. There is a very strange section towards the end that belongs in weird fiction novel and seems very much out of place. It reminded me of Dennis Wheatley’s Uncharted Seas. I later began to wonder if he lifted that section, too.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice list. I had to finish and return all my library books as we’re leaving for Florida so I quickly read Lori Armstrong’s latest Mercy Gunderson book, MERCILESS. If you read these you must read them in order as this one talks about the murderer in the previous book. I’ve been read some stories from EQMM & AHMM and still reading the stories in Robert Silverberg’s TO BE CONTINUED… on the Kindle. I also read Lawrence Block’s 69 BARROW STREET, originally published as by Sheldon Lord in the early ’60s, and liked it least of all the early Block reprints I’ve read. Just didn’t work for me.

    One new book: Marvin Albert/Al Conroy’s CLAYBURN.

  3. I liked the soundtrack of SKYFALL as well as the movie. I usually listen to soundtracks by accident and need to listen to them more often as I do enjoy quite a lot of them. Names elude me now.

  4. A nice batch of books and soundtracks! My free reading time ends tomorrow. Classes start and chaos begins for a couple of weeks. Fortunately, I’ve built up a couple of weeks of postings because I’ll be hard-pressed to do much blogging until things settle down.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    LIFE OF PI was a gorgeous movie. I think it was probably one of my three favorites of last year.

  6. cgramlich says:

    I’ll be curious as to your take on Apollo’s outcasts.

  7. Carl V. says:

    I enjoyed Apollo’s Outcasts a great deal, as you know. Did you have a different take on it, cgramlich?

    I haven’t heard of The Late Quartet, gonna have to run look that up.

Leave a Reply

