New Arrivals, Current Reading, December 31 2012 – January 6, 2013

Here it is the new year, and I have a resolution. It’s the same as the last couple of years, and I’ve had mild success with it: read more of what’s on my shelves – and from the library – and buy less new things. We’ll see how that works out.

NEW ARRIVALS - Three things this time, one a pre-order from Haffner Press and two I ordered through PaperbackBookSwap. Listings and descriptions below the images.


The Complete John Thunstone by Manly Wade Wellman [Haffner Press, 2012 hardcover, new] – adventure/supernatural/fiction – collection of short stories, novelettes and two novels – Just published – I’ll use the publisher’s description from the Haffner Press website: (Now tell me, how could I resist that?)

“Conceived by Manly Wade Wellman and Weird Tales editor Dorothy McIlwraith in 1943, John Thunstone is a scholar and playboy who investigates mysterious supernatural events. Large and strong, intelligent, handsome, and wealthy, he has the typical attributes of a heroic character. He is also well-read in occult matters and has access to weapons (such as a sword-cane forged by a saint) that are especially potent against vampires, werewolves, and other supernatural creatures.  In addition to the ghosts and other traditional supernatural beings, several of Thunstone’s enemies are Wellman’s unique creations. Particularly compelling are the the enigmatic shonokins, a race of human-like creatures who claim to have ruled North America before the coming of humans. Thunstone’s most persistent foe is  the diabolical sorcerer Rowley Thorne, a character loosely based on the real occultist Aleister Crowley. Thunstone originally appeared in short stories published in Weird Tales from 1943 to 1951 with a final short story in 1982. Wellman would later write two novels featuring Thunstone: What Dreams May Come (1983) and The School of Darkness (1985).”

Contents:

The Third Cry to Legba Weird Tales Nov ’43
The Golden Goblins Weird Tales Jan ’44
Hoofs Weird Tales Mar ’44
The Letters of Cold Fire Weird Tales May ’44
John Thunstone’s Inheritance Weird Tales Jul ’44
Sorcery from Thule Weird Tales Sep ’44
The Dead Man’s Hand Weird Tales Nov ’44
Thorne on the Threshold Weird Tales Jan ’45
The Shonokins Weird Tales Mar ’45
Blood from a Stone Weird Tales May ’45
The Dai Sword Weird Tales Jul ’45
Twice Cursed Weird Tales Mar ’46
Shonokin Town Weird Tales Jul ’46
The Leonardo Rondache Weird Tales Mar ’48
The Last Grave of Lill Warran Weird Tales May ’51
Rouse Him Not Kadath Jul ’82
What Dreams May Come, Doubleday 1983
The School of Darkness, Doubleday 1985

The Ganymede Club by Charles Sheffield [TOR Science Fiction 1996 mass market paperback, used] – science fiction novel – I recently re-read Sheffield’s Cold As Ice and wanted to then read this, but though it was in my catalog, it wasn’t on the shelf. There has been some of that since I got settled here, and it will either turn up or not, but meantime I got a nice copy from PaperBackSwap. So now I have the three Cold as Ice books (Ganymede Club, Cold As Ice, Dark As Day) on the shelf again and plan to read this soon.

Maigret’s Christmas by Georges Simenon [Harcourt 1977 trade paperback, used] – mystery short story collection, 9 stories from 1949-1953 – I planned to read this over the holidays, but it didn’t come in time, so I’ll hold it for next year, if I can manage to wait that long. I do love Maigret novels and stories.

CURRENT READING – I finished Kij Johnson’s short story collection At the Mouth of the River of Bees, which surprised me at it’s wide variety of story topics. As usual, some better than others. I’ve also read the graphic novels I got for Christmas, continued reading The Black Mask Stories collection and finished Phantoms on the Bookshelves and have written a review on that which will be up in a couple of days. Just yesterday from the library came MarvelCoverMarvel Comics: the Untold Story by Sean Howe. So far I’ve read about 30 pages of during the commercials of a football game, and there hasn’t been anything I didn’t already know, having read a good amount on the history of comics in general and DC and Marvel in particular, but it’s well written enough that I keep turning pages. There are no illustrations, unless there is a photo section somewhere ahead, but that’s okay. I’ll read more of it today.

The TBR doesn’t seem to be shrinking any, though I’m reading a lot. Now I wonder why that is?

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in books, Current Reading, New Arrivals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, December 31 2012 – January 6, 2013

  1. I have that The Complete John Thunstone by Manly Wade Wellman on order, too. I have Maigret’s Christmas, but like you I haven’t read it yet. I keep meaning to read some Sheffield.

  2. Carl V. says:

    Those all look like winners to me, great choices. I would have picked up the Sheffield just for the Berkey cover. Gorgeous! The cover to Maigret’s Christmas is really clever, I like it. And Haffner Press just does such a great job with what they put out. I’d love to have the whole library of their publications.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice. That Wellman looks very appealing. Only one new arrival here: the third of Joseph Hansen’s Bohannon story collections, BOHANNON’S WOMEN, from PaperbackSwap (it’s a hardback first edition, ex-lib), which I didn’t know existed.

    I read Deon Meyer’s SEVEN DAYS, and two ebooks: Robert Silverberg’s SOMETHING WILD IS LOOSE, book three of his complete stories, and H. P. Lovecraft’s short story THE ELECTRIC EXECUTIONER.

  4. Patti Abbott says:

    I could never read a Christmas story except in the month before Christmas. I wonder why that is. Christmas always seems a bit over the top at any other time. Magical but improbable.

  5. Richard says:

    Patti, I’m pretty much the same way with Christmas season stories. They just seem a little out of sync any other time of year. My problem is forgetting I have them when December rolls around! I thank Jeff M. for suggesting this one.

  6. Richard says:

    Carl, yes it’s a nice cover, and the book is good too.

    George, I figured you’d have this one on order. I have the first Frederick Brown non-SF collection on order too.

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff, seems like you’re reading more and more e-books. What device do you read them on? I have a really hard time reading a lot of text on screen.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Just your ordinary cheapo Kindle. Although the new PaperWhite one might have been a better choice had it been available when I got it, I haven’t been having any problems with it. I find it more convenient when looking for a book to take to read in Starbucks, for instance, rather than carrying a hardback. I’m planning on taking fewer books with me to Florida this year as I have nearly 200 on the Kindle, including 50 books of short stories. (Some are just single stories but most are not.)

  9. The Thurstone will probably be one I’ll get myself.

  10. We gave Patrick that PaperWhite Kindle for Christmas. Very nice! I’m still a fan of the iPad. I like the larger screen and I use the large font when reading ebooks.

  11. cgramlich says:

    Great covers there. I’ve probably read most of those Wellman tales.

Leave a Reply

