New Arrivals, Current Reading, December 24-30, 2012

Our pledge to limit gifting this year was pretty successful, I ‘m glad to report. I had ordered a couple of CDs for myself and got another as a gift, as well as some books from my brother and my wife and one from “Santa”. Three graphic novels this time, I like them now and then, so I put them on my A-zon wish list. Yes, I still buy CDs in jewel cases. Old fashioned, perhaps, but I find the fidelity is superior to MP3 files and it’s easy to transfer the music to the Mac and iPod.

NEW ARRIVALS - Listings and descriptions below the images.

Blood Red Sun by Stephen Mertz [Diamond Books 1989 hardcover, used] – fiction – WWII period thirller – after reading a review on Bill Crider’s blog HERE  I wanted it and dug up a used copy of the hardcover edition. It goes on the “one of these days…” reading list.

Burke’s Law & Honey West soundtracks, music by Hershel Gilbert (Burke’s Law) and Joseph Mullendore (West) – soundtrack CD – [Harkit Records 2012 CD, used] – television soundtrack music – I order soundtrack CDs from Soundtrackers [email address is soundtrackers@adelphia.net] now and then, it’s an excellent source for older or obscure soundtrack music. While searching for the soundtrack of Checkmate, I  came across this one and got it too. The music for Burke’s Law is nice and jazzy, as is Honey West. The CD also contains several other TV program themes, including Target, The Rifleman, The Dectives, Black Saddle, Shayne, Tom Ewell and Rogues. Fun to listen to.

Fables: Inherit the Wind by Bill Willingham [Vertigo Comics 2012 comic sized trade paper, new] – graphic novel comic collection – collects issues 108-113 of Fables. I love Willingham’s Fables and have read it from the beginning, buying the trade collections. Now that I don’t have a good comics shop nearby, I buy the collections on line, or put them on wish lists. I’ll read this one soon. (gift)

Fairest by Bill Willingham [Vertigo 2012 comic sized trade paper, new] – graphic novel comic collection – collection issues 1-7 of the Fables-based series – As I said above, I love Willingham’s Fables and have read it from the beginning. I’ll read this one soon. (gift)

Hawaii Five-O & Checkmate soundtracks, music by Johnny Williams (Checkmate) and Morton Stevens (Hawaii Five-O) [Capitol Records 2004 CD, used] – television soundtrack music – as said above, I order soundtrack CDs from Soundtrackers [email address is soundtrackers@adelphia.net] now and then, an excellent source for older or obscure soundtrack music. After hearing a clip from Checkmate I emailed Gerry to ask if he had it. This was what we came up with. On Checkmate the music by “Johnny Williams” is John Williams, more famous by that name.

The Hobbit, an Unexpected Journey music by Howard Shore [Water Tower Music 2012 soundtrack, new] – film soundtrack – Shore wrote, orchestrated and conducted this music, just as he did the music for the three Lord of the Rings films. I haven’t had a chance to listen yet, but I’m sure I’ll like it.

Phantoms On the Bookshelves by Jacquis Bonnet [Overlook Press 2012 hardcover, new] – translated from French by Siân Reynolds – non-fiction essays, reminiscences about books, personal libraries and people – a slender volume for the bibliomaniac in all of us. The review I read made it sound irresistible. Top of the TBR list! (gift)

Songs of the Open Road – edited by Andrew Carroll and Donald McLean of the American Poetry and Literacy Project [Dover 1999 trade paper, new] – themed poetry collection – I enjoy reading poetry, and though I have many of these poems in other editions, this will be a nice collection to keep at hand. I’ll probably read it through in no time. (gift) – update: halfway through as of last night.

Teen Titans: It’s Our Right to Fight by Scott Lobdell [DC Comics 2012 comic sized trade paper, new] – graphic novel comic collection – Volume 1 collection contains issues 1-7 of DC’s New 52 revamps of the major titles. I’ve read four or five of the New 52 collections and have mixed thoughts on them. I know DC was trying to up it’s market share with this major reboot, but I’m not sure tossing out all the the old framework was the best way to do it, and I think sales bear me out on that. Still, I’m game to try the first volumes of titles I’ve sometimes read in the past as they become available. So far I’ve haven’t bought any Volume 2 collections.

CURRENT READING – The holidays have gotten me behind, and as you see above there are new books. Oh my! I’ve finished Marian Babson’s The Twelve Deaths of Christmas (see last week), have read Fairest, one of the graphic novel collections above, and am bogged down on At the Mouth of the River of Bees by Kij Johnson (just too many other shiny book-toys).  Things are piling up again.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in books, Current Reading, New Arrivals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, December 24-30, 2012

  1. Carl V. says:

    Phantoms on the Bookshelves looks and sounds wonderful. Look forward to your thoughts on that one. Cool that you got the Hobbit soundtrack. My wife bought me the Howard Shore LOTR Symphony on CD this year as well as one of the Helen Jane Long CD’s I had on my Amazon wishlist. Got a copy of The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov, vN by Madeline Ashby, Galactic Derelict by Andre Norton and a Retief book by Keith Laumer for Christmas.

  2. You and Carl must have been on Santa’s NICE list, Rick! You will love the soundtrack to THE HOBBIT. I might order those old TV soundtracks. I loved that music as a kid! Like you, I’m not convinced by the DC reboot.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice list. The only book I finished last week was a nasty little short story collection edited by Robert Bloch, MONSTERS IN OUR MIDST, about psychopaths and other serial killers.

  4. cgramlich says:

    I did not buy as many print books in 2012, but bought more ebooks than ever before. Mostly those were from friends, though.

  5. Richard says:

    Well, I was on someone’s Nice list, George. A lot of the things Carl got would have been right at home here, or else I already have them on the shelves.

  6. Cap'n Bob says:

    I read the Mertz book last week and second Bill’s nomination.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    Just three for me-a collection of Joe R. Lansdale stories, the new Barbara Vine, and a book about the movies. But I think I may have some birthday books to open.

Leave a Reply

