New Arrivals, Current Reading, December 3 – 9, 2012

This time it’s really all about the Christmas rush, so there’s not a great deal to report. I did get one book in, and although other things have arrived, they have been whisked away by my spouse. Hmmm…

NEW ARRIVALS - As I said, just the one this one. I read a short review of and thought it looked interesting.

When the Villain Comes Home

When the Villain Comes Home edited by Gabrielle Harbowy and Ed Greenwood [Dragon Moon Press 2012 trade paper, new] – SF-F short story collection – 30 stories – a review convinced me to try this, how much I like it remains to be seen, but it’s an interesting concept: “Heroes can save the world, but villains can change it.” There are several authors here I really like, others unknown to me.

CURRENT READING – I’m reading John Scalzi’s Redshirts while continuing to work on the Black Mask short story collection and I’m halfway through Charles Sheffield’s Cold As Ice, and old favorite. Next up will be a mystery novel, but I don’t know which one yet.

The holidays are sucking up a lot of reading time, even this post is a little late getting up due to decorating. Today – Monday December 10th – is the monthly quilting group day and it’s my wife’s turn to host, so we had to make the house “ready” for that. She was up at 7:00 this morning vacuuming (again) the quilt studio area in deference to the people with cats allergies. That makes this a good day for me to hang out in my little library and read, after yet another trip to the Post Office to send off the last of the out-of-town packages. I may finish Redshirts today.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, December 3 – 9, 2012

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    That one does look interesting.

    I did get a couple of books from paperBackSwap.com. First was book two in Elizabeth Gunn’s Sarah Burke series, New River Blues. I like her Jake Hines procedurals set in Minnesota. This series (the first one didn’t make a deep impression on me to be honest) is set in Tucson. The other was Richard Neely’s Shattered (original title The Plastic Nightmare) after a very good review by Ed Gorman on FFB.

    Reading? I read Margaret Maron’s latest Deborah Knott book, The Buzzard Table, and just finished E. X. Ferrars’ Crippen & Landru Lost Classics title, The Casebook of Jonas P. Jonas & Other Mysteries. Not surprisingly this was not really to my taste and not something I would call a ‘Lost Classic’ at all. I’m also reading Dangerous Visions, which I’ve never read, and the new Michael Connelly, The Black Box.

  2. Carl V. says:

    I picked up a copy of Winner Lose all, an e-book novella that was released today by Timothy Zahn. It is a prequel to his new trilogy of novels coming out featuring main Star Wars characters set in the time period between A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back. Other than the early books by Daley and Foster I’ve pretty much stayed away from all Star Wars books except Zahn’s, so I’m looking forward to this. Plan on picking up a copy of Adriene Kress’ steampunk YA novel The Friday Society later today. I’ve heard good things about her writing and this is one she says she wrote to feature strong female characters so I’m curious to try it out and see if that is indeed the case.

    I’ve been reading On Basilisk Station this past weekend, part of my own quest to try to finish up books that I’ve started and then gotten distracted from finishing. Really enjoyed what I had read the first time and am really enjoying it now as well.

  3. Agree with Jeff on this one.

    Here’s a link to the review og THE HOUSE OF SILK that first caught my eye.

    http://scottdparker.blogspot.com.2011/12/book-review-club-house-of-silk-by.html

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Oh, I’m not even counting ebooks. I have only picked up a few lately.

  5. Richard says:

    Carl, I read Basilisk Station way back when, my first Weber, I still think it’s one of the best.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    As one allergic to cats, the only help is taking an antihistamine. It is not cat hair but cat dander that does it and that’s air born I think.

  7. When Diane hosts her Book Club meeting, she spends a week Deep Cleaning. I usually hide during this time.

  8. cgramlich says:

    I finally put in the first of several orders for Christmas books last night. Looking forward to them.

  9. Richard says:

    Patti, the one with the most severe allergy takes “her pill”, for the rest, the repeated vacuuming seems to do the trick. When you come to visit, you’ll have to stock up on your antihistamines, we have four cats.

    Charles, sounds like Santa is going to be good to you this year!

Leave a Reply

