New Arrivals, Current Reading, November 26-December 2, 2012

New Arrivals – nothing this time. Some boxes came, but they were whisked away by my wife. I guess I won’t see what’s in them until Christmas.

‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡

Current Reading - I have a couple things I’m working on but nothing different from last week. I want to be reading, but seem to be sidetracked. Maybe it’s the season. On the other hand, less incoming means more time to read what’s on hand, and that’s a crazy lot of books, as you all know. Plus the wife and I have been playing chess and backgammon and watching football, all of which takes lots of time.

I hope you’re all doing better than I am.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, November 26-December 2, 2012

  1. Carl V. says:

    Playing games together and watching football sounds lovely. Makes me smile thinking of you spending time together that way. I’ll be happy to hear later about what exactly was in those packages. :)

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    No new books arrived here last week though there are a couple of things I ordered that might come this week. I did finish four more books (since we got back from the trip and the election is over I’ve been reading a lot more), all of them library books.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    Just library books and I am not getting to half of them. It’s like a book recycling stop here. I wish we played backgammon. We used to play cribbage.

  4. No card games here. We’re struggling to get our DVR under 50%. We’ve recorded episodes of THE MENTALIST and there’s still those PBS WALLANDERs to watch. But Diane has “Christmastized” (her word) the house with all the holiday knick-knacks and treats (like Holiday Peanut M&Ms…yummy!).

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We have a backgammon set and used to play but haven’t done so in years. Never learned cribbage.

    I know what you mean about the library. The only books of mine I’ve read in the last month were on the Kindle (sorry, Rick). That doesn’t mean I’ve stopped ordering books of course. And now I have the new Michael Connelly and (finally) GONE GIRL coming from the library.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We’ve also been working on getting the DVR total down. Some of the Christmas movies Jackie recorded were too lame even for her so she deleted them. We’re down under 30% now and this month should bring it down lower than that.

  7. Richard says:

    Carl, we seem to want to play chess and backgammon this time of year, and do jigsaw puzzles. Something about December…

    Jeff, I just got the notice that Scalzi’s Redshirts is in for me at the library. I’m only a short way into another SF, and now I’ll need to stop it to read the library book.

    Patti, we played Cribbage back when, but I’m lousy at it, and we both like backgammon and chess better.

  8. Richard says:

    We’ll get a tree later on, and decorate the house then too. The cards have gone, and the wrapping is proceeding apace.

  9. Richard says:

    No DVR here, so that’s one thing we don’t have to worry about.

  10. Richard says:

    We don’t do any Christmas music, lights, tree or anything UNTIL DECEMBER FIRST. My gosh, that’s early enough!

    George, we have about 100 Christmas / holiday CDs, so we stopped buying one or two new ones every year. For a long time we did what you do, and i’d been doing it for decades.

Leave a Reply

