New Arrivals, Current Reading, November 12-18, 2012

We had a great Thanksgiving with the usual turkey, stuffing, etc. Though it’s just the two of us, we like to have turkey and traditional trimmings, and we like the leftovers. We didn’t do the black Friday thing, but will start our holiday shopping soon.

New Arrivals – just one thing this time: The Further Adventures of Zorro by Johnston McCulley [Zorro Productions 2012 hardcover, new] – adventure – This is the first volume of the “Zorro Masters Edition”, published by a small German group. The goal is to print the McCulley Zorro works not available elsewhere in a uniform edition. It’s by subscription, meaning you order before the printing is done. At just over $25, they may seem pricey to some people, but the lure of a complete edition is strong.

The book has laminated boards featuring an original painting. I find the paper oddly slick, and the paragraph spacing is quite wide since they use internet format with no indents and an extra space between paragraphs. I’m not sure why they chose that format or hardcover instead of trade paper, which may have been slightly less expensive, but it’s good this is in print for now. I haven’t read this before and am looking forward to it.

‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡

Current Reading - I’m still working my way through The Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories, I just finished the original serialized version of The Maltese Falcon which was great. I’ve been in the mood for some science fiction, so after a couple of fitful starts on other things decided to reread an old favorite by Charles Sheffield, Cold As Ice.

Our back walk got washed out again even though our gutters were cleaned out just a few days before. We’ll have to get the gutters replaced or come up with another solution for this problem as it’s expensive to keep getting the darn walk repaired and it’s a bigger chore than we can handle.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, November 12-18, 2012

  1. I’m glad to hear someone finally got that Zorro book. I haven’t even had a sniff yet and the fellow in charge keeps making claims about the arrival date that never pan out. At least for me. And I seem to be on his s**t list lately.

  2. Patti Abbott says:

    Glad your holiday was a good one. I don’t go near the stores until we can go mid-week. Terrifying with people shooting each other.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I like that cover a lot even though the book doesn’t tempt me.

    I did (I must admit) get in a couple of books last week. From reading Joe Queenan’s book I got a lot of interesting new titles to look out for. One that the library didn’t have which I got from PaperbackSwap attracted me for the Brooklyn setting, as well as Queenan’s rave: Francisco Goldman’s The Ordinary Seaman. The other was a new anthology of 29 stories (Patti Abbott is one of the authors) called Both Barrels.

    I read a book recommended (see a theme here?) by Bill Crider, Crooked Little Vein by Warren Ellis that was about as ‘out there’ as you can get. Also read the latest YA by Rebecca Stead, Liar & Spy, and Archer Mayor’s 23rd (can it really be that many?) Joe Gunther book, Paradise City.

    Paradise City, by the way, is one of the nicknames of Northampton, Massachusetts, which is central to the action of this one. Another is Lesbianville. According to Wikipedia, Northampton has the most lesbian couples per capita of any city in the US.

    Don’t say you didn’t learn something new today.

    I’m halfway through Pete Hamill’s new book of stories set in Brooklyn, most of which were originally written for the Daily News in the 1980′s.

  4. Now that I’ve finished correcting 100 term papers, I can get back to some pleasure reading. Like Jeff, I like the cover on Zorro but I have no interest in the book (or the movies). We had our first snowfall yesterday. That’s late in the season for us. I have two weeks of classes to teach, then a week of FINAL EXAMS and grading, and then I’m FREE for a month! Today I’ll be ordering Christmas gifts online.

  5. cgramlich says:

    I enjoy Zorro but maybe not enough to buy that pricey of an item.

  6. Richard says:

    Randy, I was on the first wave for Zorro, it seems, along with another person signed up here. Yours should be there any day now.

    Patti, Barbara was going today, but a DMV glitch – actually the Subaru dealer’s glitch – made us cancel that while we get things straightened out.

    That’s lots of books, Jeff!

  7. Richard says:

    George, Barbara keeps asking me for gift suggestions, but I don’t have a clue. Seems I have all I need or want right now.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We just ordered a few books on ABE just to keep our hand in.
    ;)

  9. Evan Lewis says:

    I’m sure Zorro appreciates your patronage, sir.

  10. John says:

    Geez, who really thinks $25 is pricey for a book? Isn’t that the average price of ANY hardcover book these days? Must be the eBook rage that is making people think books should all be less than $5 a piece.

    I thought there was only one Zorro novel — The Curse of Capistrano. Are these all short stories and novellas culled from magazines, Rick?

  11. Richard says:

    John, there are quite a few novels and some novellas, according to my source, Dave Lewis, who is something of a Zorro expert. This is the second novel, which has been out of print for a very long time. And for those who don’t know, The Mark of Zorro and The Curse of Capistrano are the same book.

Leave a Reply

