New Arrivals, Current Reading, November 12-18, 2012

New Arrivals – four things this time. It would have been five, but the vagaries of delivery times from the Azon mean I’m missing the middle of a trilogy. Possibly it’ll come next week.

Agatha H. and the Clockwork Princess A Girl Genius Novel by Phil and Kaja Foglio [Night Shade Books, 2012 trade paper, new] – YA fantasy-adventure – novelization of Girl Genius graphic novels – this is the second novelization of the 8 so far graphic novels. Since the first one covered the first two and a half of those, I’m guessing this one will catch us up to #5 or so. I’m eager to read it. There are entirely too many of those eager-to-read books starting to stack up, not to mention all the other things hanging about…

The Laughing Policeman by Maj Sjöwall and Per Wahlöö [Vintage Crime, 2009 trade paperback, new] – mystery – this is the fourth in the Martin Beck series of mysteries about the Scandinavian policeman, who in fact rarely if ever laughs. I haven’t read any of the Beck books, but a mention of this in Books to Die For made me decide it was time. I’m expecting it to be fairly depressing, not a good thing, but I’ll find out sometime soon.

The Outstretched Shadow by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory [Tor 2004 mass market paperback, new] – fantasy – after reading a very convincing review of the first book in a new, later installment of this multi-trilogy series, I decided to get the first 3 books. I read some books by Lackey and another collaborator 15 or 20 years ago and was not impressed, but I’ll give these a try.

When Darkness Falls  by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory [Tor 2007 mass market paperback, new] – fantasy – deciding to get this first trilogy meant getting all three books and this is #3. The middle book should arrive soon. Meantime, once I have them all, they will be set to one side while I continue to play catch-up on other reading.

‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡ ‡

Current Reading - I finished another one, Bye Bye, Baby by Max Collins and have been reading stories in The Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories (just finished Lester Dent’s “Luck”) and have read some more of Gift of Rain. So I’m making continued progress on that pile of partially read books. This will be the last post with the list below in it. The books in blue have now been read:

  1. Jane: The Woman Who Loved Tarzan (library book)
  2. Nemesis 
  3. The Stainless Steel Rat
  4. Books to Die For (library book)
  5. Agatha H and the Airship City
  6. The Private Practice of Michael Shayne
  7.  The Mother Goose Murders
  8. Bye Bye, Baby (library book)
  9. The Gift of Rain
  10. The Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories (short stories – have read 4 more)
  11. 50 for 50 (short stories – have read 2 more)
  12. The Uncomplaining Corpses

I’m finding I don’t get as many books read on the weekend now that football is going full bore, especially the college season, where we are following the Oregon Ducks every game. They got beat yesterday by Stanford in an absolutely pathetic effort and who knows what will happen next week. I may be reading more than in recent weekends. I need to turn off the set and read some more on the weekends, or, when it’s dry get outside and do more leaf raking and late Fall clean up.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, November 12-18, 2012

  1. I read THE LAUGHING POLICEMAN many years back. Don’t remember much about it other than that I liked it. I believe I did read another one or two possibly, but it was so far back, pre-internet days of course, that out of print books were hard to find. My small town had no bookstores at the time and it was stumble across them on the spinner racks of the various drug stores that had such.

  2. Patti Abbott says:

    Love all the Beck books. Hard to choose a favorite but perhaps THE LOCKED ROOM or this one. Maybe ROSEANNA.

  3. Patt’s right about THE LOCKED ROOM. I rarely watch a football game without a book in my lap. There are so many commercials I can easily get several chapters read. I’ve ordered the Agatha H.books.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, I hate to tell you this but you really need to read the Beck series in order, starting with #1 (ROSEANNA). No, they weren’t a lot of laughs but I don’t remember them as being particularly depressing, especially compared with today’s Scandinavian mystery writers. But then I read them in the 1970′s so my memory might be off. (By the way, in recent years I picked up all 10 for future rereading. It’s pobably needless to say but I haven’t started yet.)

    This was a good book week for me in that I read a number of books and didn’t bring a single new one into the house. Reading: Roman Dirge’s LENORE: WEDGIES about Lenore the Cute Little Dead Girl. ONE FOR THE BOOKS by Joe Queenan, snarky but full of good book stuff that has added to my “read soon” list, and directly led to me reading Alan Bennett’s wonderful THE UNCOMMON READER: A Novella. Check your local library; trust me on this.

    Next was another Bill Crider recocmmendation (as was teh Dirge), Matt Ruff’s BAD MONKEYS, also terrific. And lastly, I finished another ebook short story collection, Kevin Tipple’s MIND SLICES.

    Notice I’m continuing this year’s “other than mystery” reading (other than the Ruff and the Tipple).

    Of course I do have half a dozen library books on the shelf.

  5. cgramlich says:

    I’ve got a couple of Mercedes Lackey books around here but haven’t read them. How is she?

  6. Richard says:

    Randy, no book store. I lived in a smallish town, but it wasn’t that far to a larger one with a couple of them. The spinner racks at the grocery, liquor and drug stores held only recent books, I think, but I could be wrong about that.

    Patti, many people have said they love these books.

  7. Richard says:

    George, Any television – program or commercial – is too distracting for me to read more than a magazine.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, why is it important to read them in order, if I’m going to read just the one? Are there a lot of spoilers to other books or things the authors “assume” I already know? You’ve been reading a lot, as always. I still haven’t been able to read an ebook, something about reading on a screen bothers me, not my eyes, but it just feels so wrong.

  9. Richard says:

    Charles, the Lackey I read back when had a strange world built on a Dante model that I really didn’t like, so I soon gave it up, though I had it and the next 4 in hardcover…

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    If you’re only reading the one than no, it doesn’t matter. And that is definitely one of the best in the series. I just thought if you were going to read the rest you’d be better off starting at the beginning to meet the characters and see how they evolve.

  11. Richard says:

    Jeff, I just don’t have the time, or room for the physical books – though the library does seem to have many of them – to read ten of anything these days. Just now I’m reading The Maltese Falcon, the original serial version of which is in the Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories

  12. Carl V. says:

    I’ve looked at the Martin Beck more than once. Almost picked them up in Borders’ going out of business sale way back when but didn’t know anyone who had read them that I could ask. So, I’ll be curious when you do get around to the first one as to how you like it.

    Kudos to you for the progress you are making on the pile.

Leave a Reply

