New Arrivals, Current Reading, October 28 – November 4, 2012

It’s been windy and rainy here, the Fall color is quickly blowing away. The maple tree I posted just a few days ago is nearly stripped of leaves and there’s leaf raking to be done everywhere.

New Arrivals - Three things time, plus a library book.

Engineering Infinity edited by Jonathan Strahan [Rebellion/Solaris 2010 mass market paperback, new] – science fiction short story collection – here’s the description from back cover:
“The universe shifts and changes: suddenly you understand, you get it, and are filled with a sense of wonder. That moment of understanding drives the greatest science-fiction stories and lies at the heart of Engineering Infinity. Whether it’s coming up hard against the speed of light and, with it, the enormity of the universe or realizing that terraforming a distant world is harder and more dangerous than you’d ever thought, it’s hard science-fiction where sense of wonder is most often found and where science-fiction’s true heart lies.”
Authors include Stephen Baxter, Charles Stross, Kristine Kathryn Rusch and Gwyneth Jones. The reviews have been mixed, but I decided to pick it up anyway. We’ll see. The following collection in this series is Edge of Infinity, available in mass market paperback near the end of this month.

The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng [ Weinstein Books 2012 trade paperback, new] – fiction novel – this is the next book Eng has written, a follow-up to The Gift of Rain, of which I’ve read enough to know I’ll want to have this on hand when I finish it.

Trickster’s Point by William Kent Krueger [Atria 2012 hardcover, new] – mystery – the 12th in the Cork O’Connor series, which happens to be, along with the books of Louise Penny, my very favorite mysteries. This was published in August and somehow I missed it until now. A very welcome addition to the shelves. This and Brin’s Existence will have to duke it out for what gets read first, once I have the backlog cleaned up.

Current Reading - I have finished three of the nine books I had partially read, Nemesis, Jane and Stainless Steel Rat. However another library book showed up: Books to Die For. Since that’s a deadline item I started reading it immediately, and it’s just finished. It was very enjoyable. Now I have returned to Agatha H. and then will go to the Michael Shayne mystery. Following that my plan is to back to The Gift of Rain. Unless another library book shows up; I have several on hold. Whew.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, October 28 – November 4, 2012

  1. Carl V. says:

    I have Engineering Infinity and have read a couple of stories from it but then put it back on the shelf and haven’t gotten back to it. I too have heard mixed things. I’ve read some great reviews for Edge of Infinity and plan on picking that one up right away when it comes out. I should actually commit to reading it right away too. :)

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Well, we were away for 10 days so no new books for me. I did read a couple of things while we were away, including a volume of Robert Silverberg’s collected stories.

  3. cgramlich says:

    You’ve got your reading scheduled like I have work it seems. :)

  4. You and Patti have been reading BOOKS TO DIE FOR at the same time. Our Japanese Maple is almost leafless, too.

  5. Richard says:

    Carl, if I didn’t already have two huge ss collections under way, I’d probably get started on Engineering Infinity, but it will have to wait, probably a good while.

    Jeff, I hope you did get a novel read as well as all those shorts.

    Charles, I’m just trying to clear up a backlog of partially read books so I can start on some fresh things. I’m sure your writing is much better organized!

  6. Richard says:

    George, I’ll bet Patti has read more of the books in BTDF than I have. I think I’ve read somewhere between 1/2 and 2/3 of them.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    I have never seen the leaves fall this quickly before. I have a WKK on my shelf but I never seen to get to a book that is not the first in the series. I feel at sea.

  8. Richard says:

    Patti, pick up a paperback copy of Iron Lake and get started!

Leave a Reply

