first time in a long time

My Wife did something this morning she hasn’t done in many, many years, since she lived in Denver. She did a 5K walk. She can’t run due to her knees, but she walks at about 15-16 minute/mile at 5K length, which isn’t bad. Here is a photo of her by the route map just after the event:

Since we got to Portland she has been lamenting not walking enough, though she goes to a fitness club, 24 Hour Fitness, 3 or 4 days a week for treadmill, cardio, strength, etc. When we saw a small piece in our local Lake Oswego paper for the 36th Lake Run, I suggested she try it, and though she hesitated, she decided to give it a try. She was 3rd for her age group and had what she said was an okay starting-to-get-back-into-it time. I’m really proud of her!

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to first time in a long time

  1. macavityabc says:

    Way to go!

  2. Evan Lewis says:

    Woooo-eeeee. Great job, Wife!

  3. Cap'n Bob says:

    I keep telling my wife to take a hike and she ignores me.

    Good for Wife on her achievement.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice job! And tell her Happy Mother’s Day from all of us.

  5. Richard says:

    Will do, Jeff.

  6. I love a good walk, myself.

  7. I’m convinced walking is better than running for the long-term health of our knees. Congratulations! That’s quite an accomplishment.

  8. And, HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY, too!

  9. Carl V. says:

    Ah, you have reason to be proud. How cool for the both of you to be able to do this together. I’m proud of you both and very happy with you. My own first 5K is coming up within the month and I’m excited and nervous about it.

Leave a Reply

