New Arrivals, April 16-22, 2012

Still a few things trickling in.

The Happy Valley by Max Brand [A.L. Burt, Dodd, Mead & Co, 1931 hardcover, used] -western – picked this up from Laurie Powers of Laurie’s Wild West blog. She had an eBay auction for some of the books she no longer has room for, and this one looked interesting. It’s in surprisingly good shape for a book over 80 years old, dust jacket and all. I’ve only read one other book by Brand.

Murder in the Maze by J.J. Connington  [Coachwhip Publications 2012 trade paper, new] – classic mystery – originally published in 1927. I saw a review of this in Crime and Detective Stories (CADS) # 62, published by Geoff Bradley in the U.K. The article, written by Curtis Evans, is on the crime critic works of T.S. Eliot. The article quotes Eliot: “with Murder in the Maze, Connington has made a place for himself in the front row of detective story writers.” That was good enough for me, and amazingly, it’s in print.

note: CADS is published irregularly, every few months, and is a wealth of information about mystery books. While there is no website for CADS, Bradley can be contacted for individual issues or a subscription – you pay one issue at a time – at Geoffcads@aol.com.

The Spider pulp double # 23 by “Grant Stockbridge” [Girasol Collectibles 2012 oversized trade paperback, new] – pulp fiction – collects The Spider and the Scarlet Surgeon and The Spider and the Death Piper. I thought I’d dropped this subscription, but this came Wednesday, so apparently I have a couple of issues left. These are fun, but a little at a time is enough for me. I’m starting to think I like Doc Savage and maybe even The Shadow as much.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in books, mystery, New Arrivals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Arrivals, April 16-22, 2012

  1. Randy Johnson says:

    I only have the first two Girasol Spiders. The brand looks intersting as well.

  2. I have a few paperback reprints of THE SPIDER. That Girasol SPIDER looks enticing!

  3. I don’t have that Spider. I’ve got a couple of others I need to read around the house.

  4. Richard says:

    I like these Spider collections, but as I said, a little goes a good way. I started with #1 and now have 23, have read only two of them. It’s the Connington I’m most looking forward to reading.

  5. p881 says:

    All my books came from the library this week. But I love them anyway.

  6. Richard says:

    Of course you do, Patti, what’s not to love about a book?

  7. John says:

    Curt Evans was primarily responsible for bringing Connington’s books back into print. He did a lot of legwork with Connington’s literary executor and then managed to contact Coachwhip who agreed to reprint two books. If they sell well, there may be more. Hope you like MURDER IN THE MAZE. I’ve read three of his books (none fo the reprinted ones, thouh) and I think THE SWEEPSTAKES MURDER is a classic. DEATH AT SWAYTHLING COURT was a fun little romp written in a light hearted tone that seems to vanish in Connington’s later works.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I used to pick up those Conningtons in Penguin paperbacks in England all the time but never read them.

    I did get three paperbacks last week, Bill Crider’s …A DANGEROUS THING (which I’d already read), JDM’s APRIL EVIL, and Mary Logue’s POINT NO POINT, which I read yesterday on the trip home from Phoenix.

Leave a Reply

