Happy Earth Day!

Be kind to the planet, each other, and get outside.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Happy Earth Day!

  1. Randy Johnson says:

    For the first time in a while, it’s a rainy, slightly cooler day than we’ve had recently. (sigh)

  2. Randy Johnson says:

    Oops! Bad set-up on that sentence.Sorry.

  3. Richard says:

    Try to enjoy it anyway, Randy. This is the warmest, nicest day of the year here. Both Barbara and I have been sitting on the back patio getting some sun on our pasty legs and loving the few things that are starting to grow in the garden. We grilled last night ad may do so again tonight. Feels like Spring is really here!

  4. Amen to that, Richard! Nicest day of the year here so far too. Mowed my lawn for the first time as well. Might get a hike in later. Supposed to be even nicer tomorrow.

  5. Richard says:

    Chris, Barbara mowed our lawn this morning too. It’s only 14 ft. square, with a small maple tree in the center, so it’s not a big job, and she enjoys doing it. When we got here, we went looking for a reel-type push mower, and had a hell of a time finding one. Most everything is power mowers any more.

  6. Evan Lewis says:

    Yep, it’s a fine day to sit outside, relax and listen to the next-door neighbor play with his rototiller.

  7. Carl V. says:

    Happy Earth Day to you too Richard. It was a chilly day here, more like the weather we are supposed to have this time of year. Still I braved the morning breeze and took a bike ride along a nature trail, enjoying the beauty and solitude of nature.

  8. Richard says:

    Evan, yep, our down-hill neighbor pounded nails for a couple of hours and then ran a really noisy generator until 5:00. It was so loud I finally had to go inside to the library, close the windows and turn on the stereo to drown it out. Barbara can tune stuff like that out, but I never have learned that trick.

    Carl, sounds nice, and goo exercise, too! BTW, lost 2.4 more lb. this week!

  9. Carl V. says:

    That is great Richard! I’ve finally hit what I thought was my goal, 160 lbs (30 lbs lost) but I find that I still have more belly fat to lose, so now more than ever the number on the scale isn’t what matters, it is building muscle and burning fat. I want that dangerous (for guys) belly fat gone.

  10. Richard says:

    Carl, you don’t have any idea what belly fat is until you’ve been as big as I was in November 2010 when I seriously started dieting. It’s just that with a bad back it’s hard to get much exercise so I have to rely on eating less and healthier almost exclusively. Once I’ve lost 50 more or so, I should be able to start getting more exercise, walking, and that will really help.

  11. Carl V. says:

    Perhaps, but I do know that genetically my makeup spells the worst possible situation for a guy, fat concentrated mostly in the organs, visceral fat I believe they call it, and I want to do what I can now, before it is too late, to put my body in as healthy a position as possible.

  12. Richard says:

    Good for you! That’s all we can do, really.

Leave a Reply

