New Arrivals, March 26 – April 1, 2012

Not a thing, and that’s the way I like it. As mentioned in the last N.A. post, the Special, I’ve dumped the pre-orders, cleared the basket, stopped ordering stuff, quit going to the book store. If that sounds excruciatingly boring, perhaps, but instead of adding, I’ve been reading. I know you haven’t seen much in the way of reviews here, but they are coming.

That pile of eleven partially read books I had? Eight of them have been taken care of so far, and I’ve been making headway on number nine. After that, there will only be a Mike Shane novel, Shoot the Works, and the doorstopper sized Leviathan Wakes. I may interrupt reading those to read a John D. MacDonald book for Friday Forgotten Books on April 13, but I’ll get through them soon enough. Meanwhile I’m making good progress on both the not buying and the positive budget impact of same. Good thing, because our income tax hit is brutal this year.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in books, fantasy, graphic novel, mystery, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals, March 26 – April 1, 2012

  1. Randy Johnson says:

    Looking forward to the reviews. And the Mike Shayne when you get to it.

  2. I’m with Randy…bring on the reviews! We took a hit on the Federal taxes, but we’re getting some back from NY States. I like to break even, but that didn’t happen this year.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Sorry about the tax thing. We got back money; not a great deal but something. I subscribe to the George Kelley theory – as long as you don’t have to pay it’s all good.

    I did get books this week. As previously mentioned I ordered the three next Cynthia Harrod-Eagles/Bill Slider books, GAME OVER, FELL PURPOSE and BODY LINE (all hardbacks), plus the next three Kate Ellis/Wesley Peterson books (all new paperbacks), A PERFECT DEATH, THE BLOOD PIT and THE JACKAL MAN.

    I also got one book that was on the list of “the ten best end of the world books” that Bill Crider had on his blog a couple of weeks ago: RANDOM ACTS OF SENSELESS VIOLENCE by Jack Womack, told from the perspective of a twelve year old girl’s diary. I hadn’t realized when I ordered it from ABE (for $4.48, including shipping) that it was a hardback, in dust jacket.

  4. p881 says:

    Phil always manages to get money back. If he dies and the IRS calls me in, it’s jail time.

  5. Richard says:

    Our problem is that my pension won’t withhold any taxes for the state of Oregon, so all the state taxes have to come from somewhere. Barbara and I had been withholding a lot of extra Fed tax to offset that, Fed refund balances state payment, but now she’s on Social Security and they don’t withhold for state either. Plus she got a big severance check November 15 that really messed things up, though it had withholding, it was not enough. We’re paying over 5 grand, and have to go on quarterly now, a lot of it. So don’t tell me about “breaking even”, for us there’s no such thing, with one federal income source and one out of state income source. Before, when we were both working, and in So Cal, we did break even, just about every year, or even better.

  6. Sometimes you’ve gotta do it. I’m right behind you.

  7. Richard says:

    Of course, for 2012 and continuing, our income will be about a third of last year, but we’ll still have the state tax problem.

  8. Carl V. says:

    Good for you! I saw the “New Arrivals” title in the email and my first thought was “What?!?!” Glad to see you are sticking to your guns. And way to go on knocking out some of those partially read books. I’ve gotten almost no reading done this past week due primarily to other things I needed to or wanted to focus on but did sit down yesterday for a couple of hours of uninterrupted reading pleasure and it was glorious.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    One of the few good things about New York State is you don’t have to pay the same taxes once you’re retired. We take enough federal withholding out on Jackie’s SS plus any money she makes during the year to come out ahead.

  10. Todd Mason says:

    But…but…he who dies crushed beneath the weight of too many books wins! Sorry to read of the tax slaps atop the necessary moving/housing expenses…I suspect I’ll be getting back again from New Jersey, and paying a little less than that to the Feds, but this is the second year of my housemate’s status as a “private contractor” and she’s facing a whomping big bill that she might need to borrow to deal with. Thank goodness that between them Romney and Obama are very concerned about the health of GM and Bank of America.

    Meanwhile, I’m touting music over at my blog, free so far (till the vids get pulled!), that at least some of which you might like, if you’re in the mood. I also look forward to more music reviews, if you’re of a mind to do some…

Leave a Reply

