New Arrivals, March 12 – 18, 2012

After last week’s large incoming batch, things are settling down now. The two books this time are both the result of FFB posts.

I took an inventory last week and found 11 books partly read. So I’ve done it again, started way more than I finish. It’s time to work on eliminating that pile before starting anything new. Also, in an effort to trim the book budget, I’ve dumped all the pre-orders, wish list books and books in the A-zon cart. My plan, you’ve heard this before, is to read more, buy (and keep) less.

Death’s Bright Dart by V.C. Clinton-Bradley [Ostara Publishing, 2009 trade paperback, new] – mystery – first published in 1964, UK – There have been two reviews books by V.C. Clinton-Bradley in the last 4-6 weeks in the Patti Abbott-hosted Friday Forgotten Books. The chances are infinitesimally small of that happening, but it has, and now here’s a third mention. Obviously a hot author! <grin> Part of the Cambridge Crime series, this thin mystery looks like it will be a great change of pace.

The Linnet’s Tale by Dale C. Willard [Scribner 2002 trade paperback, illustrated by James Noel Smith, used] – children’s fiction – I can’t resist a book like this, every once in a while it’s just the ticket to entertain and relax with. Great reviews.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in books, mystery, New Arrivals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to New Arrivals, March 12 – 18, 2012

  1. Bill Crider says:

    Just trying to see if I can post a comment. Couldn’t manage it last time I tried.

  2. Cutting back is something I say a lot. Doesn’t usually work. I’ve always maintained that readers are like a kid in a candy store. You want everything you see and don’t know where to start.

  3. Evan Lewis says:

    Next thing you know you’ll be a cheapskate library patron, like me. At least there’s no danger of you reading free Kindle books, like me.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Buy less, read more. What a great plan! I wish I’d thought of it.
    ;)

    Just kidding. I do take a lot of stuff out of the library (current count, 13 books and 3 DVD’s) but get most of the stuff to cheap from PaperbackSwap.com.

    That said, I ordered a bunch of paperbacks not generally available here (Kate Ellis, Cynthia Harrod-Eagles) from amazon,co.uk, along with a few DVD’s of British television series. But they haven’t arrived yet.

    All the books that came in last week were for Jackie except one, the paperback of Jamie Freveletti’s third Emma Caldridge mystery, The Ninth Day, which I’ve already read.

    I did read two of the Clinton-Baddeley books back in the mid-70’s but not this one. I had all five of them for years but eventually got rid of them.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    That should have been “to keep” rather than “to cheap” up there.

    Freudian, perhaps?

  6. I love kids books like that too. I want this one.

  7. I can only read one book at a time. Anything else leads to madness. However, I also have a short story collection going constantly. Jeff Meyerson introduced me to the “Read a Story Story Every Day” program decades ago and I’ve kept it up.

  8. poegeek says:

    I understand the “heard it before” thing, because I’ve said it many a time myself. But if I’m honest I have actually curbed my habits to some degree, baby-step style. It is more like binges now with bigger breaks in between purchases.

    The Linnet’s Tale looks gorgeous. I can’t resist a good looking children’s book, especially if it has a nice story to go along with the art.

  9. p881 says:

    Sadly I didn’t know what a linnet was until now.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Sondheim had a song “Green Finch and Linnet Bird” in Sweeney Todd, which is how I knew what it was.

  11. Richard says:

    Bill, you’re not the only one who’s had trouble leaving a comment in the last week or so. I contacted WordPress but they have no suggestions. I’ve logged out, shut down, waited a day, relaunched the blog, logged back in. Don’t know if that made any difference, but I hope so.

    Randy, that’s a great comment. Sometimes I feel like that and occasionally I don’t see anything I want, or want to read.

    Evan, I have two things on hold at the library now, using it more is part of “the Plan”.

  12. Richard says:

    Jeff, I haven;t had the best luck just lately with PaperbackSwap. Either what I want isn’t there or I get a book that’s absolutely trashed, even though I have requester conditions regarding condition. I have a ton of the Bill Slider mysteries by Harrod-Eagles, have only read the first couple which I liked very much, especially Orchestrated Death.

    Charles, I was only able to find it used.

  13. Richard says:

    Poe, it’s the binges that kill you. I haven’t read Linnet’s Tale yet, but I think it will be good.

    P881, I knew it was a bird of some kind, but nothing specific.

  14. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We’ve actually had very good luck with paperbackswap as far as condition goes, with very few of the hundreds of books we get being in poor shape. Since most of them are just to read and re-list it doesn’t bother us. It’s true that I’ve had certain books on the wish list since we first joined, but occasionally one (like Evan Hunter’s Last Summer and Mothers and Daughters (the latter of which I still haven’t read) will be offered. Overall, however, I’d guess that Jackie gets a lot more from them than I do.

    Actually, I mis-spoke on the Sliders. I actually got them on ABE rather than from amazon.uk. ABE was a lot more reasonable.

  15. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Just checked. Since we joined I’ve sent out 1,006 books and have received 944!

  16. Richard says:

    Wow, Jeff, that’s a lot. I’ve mailed 153 and gotten 97. Only two of the books received were really bad. On one I asked for the credit back and got it, on the other the guy got really snooty about it so I reported him and they gave him a black mark.

    Are the Sliders in omnibus, or individual books per title? I had a lot of hard and paper books, but traded them all out and bought the three omnibus volumes.

  17. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The new ones I got are separate but since you got the omnibus editions it can’t hurt to wait until they come up with the newer ones in that format.

  18. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I just quickly went through my ‘transaction archives’ from paperbackswap and found, of the first 500 books (and I must add that I noticed duplicates, so it was probably more like 480), 209 were books for me and I’ve read 94 of them so far, which is not too bad.

  19. Richard, I hope you have fun with The Linnet’s Tale. Though it looks like a children’s book, I actually wrote it for adults. The full title of the Kindle version is The Linnet’s Tale (A Mouse Story for Grownups). I’d enjoy hearing what you think of it on my page at: facebook.com/dalecwillard.

Leave a Reply

