New Arrivals, February 27 – Match 4, 2012

Quite a lot arrived, this time. I’m filling in the gaps I had with a couple of series, and bought a new graphic novel for the first time in a while, plus mysteries, for both myself and Wife’s reading pleasure and picking up an old favorite author. Here we go.

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin. [Bantam Spectra 2011 trade paperback, new] – fantasy – the second volume in Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire. I now have the first 3 books. I suppose I’ll read them, then if I’m still interested, buy another or two, whatever is out in paperback by then.

A Touch of Frost by R.D. Wingfield [Bantam 1995 mass market paperback, new] – mystery the second in the Frost series. Frost is an interesting character, working in a somewhat typical Brit cop milieu.

The Blade Itself  by Joe Abercrombie [Pyr 2007 trade paperback, new] – fantasy – Book One of The First Law trilogy – I was given the second and third books and so had to buy this one to get started. Strong reviews.

Before They Are Hanged by Joe Abercrombie [Pyr 2008 trade paperback, used, gift] – fantasy – Book Two of The First Law trilogy – Though I’m not familiar with this trilogy, it seems to have garnered good reviews.

Last Argument of Kings by Joe Abercrombie [Pyr 2008 trade paperback, used, gift] – fantasy – Book Three of The First Law trilogy – Though I’m not familiar with this trilogy, it seems to have garnered good reviews. As far as I can tell, this is the conclusion, so the thing won’t run on and on.

Nordguard Book One: Across Thin Ice by Tess Garman and Teagan Gavet [Sofewolf 2011 oversized trade paperback, new] – graphic novel – I saw a posting of this on Bookgasim, read the sample pages and bought it. It’s a little hard to describe, but basically it’s about a far north country law group, the Nordguard, in a world of talking animals. The Nordguard are all sled dogs, a tough bunch, and they have to go to a mine north of their usual territory in the dead of winter in answer to a distress call. The artwork os great and it’s well written too. You can go to the Nordguard website for samples and a (very) little more info. I can hardly wait for Book Two!

Hard Frost by R.D. Wingfield [Bantam 1995 mass market paperback, new] – mystery the fourth in the Frost series. Frost is an interesting character, working in a somewhat typical Brit cop milieu. These books are hard to find. The library here has not a single book by Wingfield, though they do have a;; the DVDs. Shocking.

Peril of the Starmen by Kris Neville and The Strange Invasion by Murray Leinster [Armchair Fiction Double # D-11, 2011 trade paperback, new] – silver age science fiction George Kelly reviewed a couple of these recently (HERE) and I was intrigued enough to buy a couple of them, this and the one listed below. As George said, “If you’d like to check out this publishing endeavor, just click here. – One thing I really wish these had was a little publication history. I had to dig a bit to find that Peril of the Starmen, actually a novellette not a novel, was published in the January 1954 issue of Imagination.  and that The Strange Invasion is a variant title for War of the Gizmos , published in 1958 by Fawcett Gold Medal (which is the version I once had, read, enjoyed). I’ve long been a fan of Leinster, especially his Med Series.

Planet of Dread by Murray Leinster and Twice Upon a Time by Charles L. Fontenay [Armchair Fiction Double # D-7, 2010 trade paperback, new] – silver age science fiction – see my comments in the listing above. I got tired of digging out the publication info, so all I know about Planet of Dread is that I don’t know when or where it was published before this. Twice Upon a Time was published in 1958 as half of an Ace Double with The Mechanical Monarch by E.C. Tubb. It will be fun to read these.

Telzey Amberdon by James H. Schmitz [Baen Books 2000 mass market paperback, new] – science fiction short story collection – Since I got Trigger and Friends from someone (you know who you are!) and started reading it, I’ve been eager to read more, and MORE Schmitz. Having read many of his stories in Astounding Science Fiction / Analog between 1950 and 1975 or so, which I invariably liked, I haven’t gone back to him, and this taste whetted my appetite to such a degree that I’m now searching out every paperback Schmitz collection I can get my hands on. This and the following are the first ones to show up, but more are in the pipeline. Sadly, many of the books are OP and silly expensive. One paperback from about 10 years ago was listed by a dealer – the only copy so far – at over $200 smackers. Whoa. After I can get what I can, I may be soliciting other titles from, uh, you.

The Witches of Karres James H. Schmitz [Baen Books 2008 mass market paperback, new] – science fiction – Since I got Trigger and Friends from someone (you know who you are!) and started reading it, I’ve been eager to read more, and MORE Schmitz. Having read many of his stories in Astounding Science Fiction / Analog between 1950 and 1975 or so, which I invariably liked, I haven’t gone back to him, and this taste whetted my appetite to such a degree that I’m now searching out every paperback Schmitz collection I can get my hands on.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in books, fantasy, graphic novel, mystery, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Arrivals, February 27 – Match 4, 2012

  1. those doubles look interesting. I bookmarked the link to the site previously and likely will buy some of them. I have a weakness for that stuff.

    I like Martin’s SF work, and I liked the first book in this trilogy, but got bogged down on the second. I seem to have developed an aversion to these long fantasy series, as over the years I’ve started stuff by Terry Brooks, Terry Goodkind, and Robert Jordan, only to give up a few books in.

  2. Jerry House says:

    A good haul. It’s nice to see Schmitz in print again.
    HARD FROST was number four in the series; two others followed.
    PLANET OF DREAD was a novella from Cele’s Goldsmith’s FANTASTIC, circa 1962. The Armchair Fiction Doubles appear to be mostly novellas from the digests, packaged with short novels from publishers like ACE. I find that I have read most of the novels and question whether the remaining novellas are worth the price. Still, as with Schmitz, it’s good to see these stories back in print.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    I wondered if Frost would seem too familiar by now. I did enjoy the TV series too but it was quite a while ago and so many British procedurals have come along since then.

  4. Nice group of books! Schmitz is a greatly underrated writer. Hopefully you’ll review some of his books for FFB. Glad you like those Armchair Fiction faux-ACE Doubles. I’ll be buying more of them, too!

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice list. Patti, the Frost books are quite a bit different (I think) from the television series, at least enough that you might try one. Or perhaps it’s just been so long since I last read one and watch the show that I’m remembering it wrong?

    Rick, HARD FROST is the fourth, after NIGHT FROST.

    The only books I’ve read by Martin – both of which I really liked – were early ones: FEVRE DREAM (a vampire novel set on the Mississippi pre-Civil War) and THE ARMAGEDDON RAG (a murder mystery involved 60’s rock & roll).

  6. Richard says:

    Jerry and Jeff, thanks, I’ve updated the post to reflect that Hard Frost is #4.

    Jerry, the Schmitz was in print by Baen, some still is but a lot of it has already gone OP and is hard to find in the used market too. I remember when books were around for a long time, and then available used for even longer… now it seems they’re getting pretty ephemeral.

  7. Richard says:

    I read something else by Martin that I liked, but only got part way through the first in this series before I se it aside for some reason, and never got back to it. I’ll have to start over again with it, it’s been years now.

  8. Carl V. says:

    Definitely a big haul this week! Wow! Nice looking selections too. I too have yet to read Abercrombie, but these books are consistently on best-of lists and have been since they first came out. Love the sf doubles. They are such a retro concept now. I only have a few of them but I know of many more I would like to collect. I went and visited the Nordguard website. Nice artwork. I especially like the coloring. Perfect time to pick it up given that the Iditarod started this past weekend.

  9. Redhead says:

    nice!

    I cant wait to hear what you think of the Joe Abercrombie. A little on the violent side, but that man completely and utterly spoiled me when it comes to epic fantasy.

  10. The Norguard book looks very interesting. I’m a sucker for anthropomorphic animals.

  11. Stan Burns says:

    Four of the Schmitz books are in the Baen free library – Agent of Vega, TNT: Telzey and Trigger, Telzey Amberdon, and The Hub: Dangerous Territory,

    Here: http://www.baenebooks.com/s-89-james-h-schmitz.aspx?CategoryFilterID=1&ManufacturerFilterID=0&

  12. Richard says:

    Thanks, Stan. Though they are e-books, I might try them if I don’t find the paperbacks. I’m still not comfortable with reading on a screen.

  13. John says:

    The only book I’ve ever read by Martin is FEVRE DREAM, an excellent early spin on the vampire motif originally published back in the early 1980s. It has an awful lot in common with a certain series by Charlaine Harris. I’m surprised Martin has never said anything about the all too coincidental similarities: Civil War background, vampire inventing a serum that will prevent him from killing humans for blood, war between good vampires and bad vampires, etc. Probably he no longer cares now that his GAME OF THRONES series is such a huge hit thanks to the TV series.

    I have never understood why Wingfield’s Frost books are so collectible. A copy of the true first edition (UK Publisher, that is) of the first book recently sold on an EBay auction for over $700. The hypermodern craze has always eluded me.

  14. Richard says:

    John, I thought the hyper-modern thing was pretty much over. That Frost sale price surprises me, too. The books are hard to find, even used paperbacks seem scarce, at least ones in decent condition. The last one I got from PaperBack Swap looked like it had been put in a clothes dryer with a cat and spun for five minutes. The seller had the nerve to say he thought it was in “perfectly good” condition. I asked for the credit back and when he refused I had to blackmark him there. First time I’ve had to do that!

    My wife and I both enjoyed the first season of the TV adaptation, but we both prefer to read the books if available. I now have 5 of them in new-condition paperback, two of which I had to order from the UK.

Leave a Reply

