New Arrivals, February 20-26, 2012

Thanks to the generosity of friends, more than one package showed up this last week. Such unexpected largess is appreciated, even if I am trying to cut down on the book count here. First the images, then the descriptions (as always).

A Confederation of Valor by Tanya Huff [DAW SF 2006 paperback, used, gift] – science fiction omnibus – the first two novels in the Confederation series, Valor’s Choice and The Better Part of Valor. I haven’t read this series, but have enjoyed the short pieces by Huff that I’ve read, so this should be good.

The Mystery of Dr. Fu Manchu by Sax Rohmer [Titan Books 2012 trade paper, new gift] – adventure-mystery – this is the first of the series of Fu Manchu books Rohmer wrote. Titan is apparently going to re-publish all of them in a uniform edition, which will be darn nice. I have most of them in one edition of another, but not all and not uniform. Time to re-read!

The Return of Dr. Fu Manchu by Sax Rohmer [Titan Books 2012 trade paper, new gift] – adventure-mystery – this is the second of the Fu Manchu books Rohmer wrote, and the second Titan has published. As I said above, I have most of the Fu Manchu books in one edition of another, but not all and not uniform.

A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin. [Bantam Spectra 2003 paperback, used, gift] – fantasy – the thrid volume in Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire which will no doubt go on for years and a handful or two of books, but I already have the first book, half read, and this one arrives, so I’ve ordered the second book to fill out the initial trilogy.

Trigger and Friends by James H. Schmitz [Ridan 2001 paperback, used, gift] – science fiction – this is the third book in the Telsey series. I read the first couple in short story and novelette form in Astounding SF / Analog a long ago and probably read the contents here too, but have forgotten. No matter, I enjoy Schmitz’ writing and will enjoy this book.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Adventure, books, fantasy, mystery, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Arrivals, February 20-26, 2012

  1. Like you, I have most of the Fu Manchu in various editions. A uniform set would be nice. We’ll see.

    Never read Huff. They look good, but with so much out there I want to read, one must make choices. Not always the best ones I’ll be the first to admit.

    The Martin series: I liked the first, got bogged down on the second, and left it from that point. The problem is probably mine, not the writer’s, as I seem to do the same thing on all such fantasy series(think Brooks, Goodkind, Jordan).

  2. I still have fond memories of my first Fu Manchu. Later I read a couple that weren’t quite so good, I thought. But they didn’t get rid of those early memories. I have a whole bunch of these in ebook.

  3. Carl recommended those Tanya Huff SF novels and he was right! I’ll have to look into acquiring those FU MANCHUs. Like you, I have various editions of those Sax Rohmer books, but a uniform edition sound enticing.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’ve read the first Fu Manchu book (years ago) but doubt I’ll read any others. I did read some of Huffs Toronto-set vampire series and have a couple of her other books on the shelf.

  5. Richard says:

    I’m halfway through the Schmitz right now, and so far it’s the prize here. I read almost all of these back in the day in Astounding / Analog, and enjoyed them. Think SF caper stories, really a lot of fun.

  6. Carl V. says:

    You can’t beat generosity, especially when it comes in the form of books! I’m a fan of the Tanya Huff series. Was just looking at book 4 yesterday wondering if it was still too soon after the third to dive back into her universe.

    Very nice haul this week Richard.

  7. Richard says:

    Thanks, Carl, and more to come next week, I already 7 books in hand!

Leave a Reply

