New Arrivals, September 19 – 25, 2011

There must be a saying about fewer things of greater quality being the most desirable outcome. That’s it for this week, just the one book.

The Chronicles of Master Li and Number Ten Ox by Barry Hughart [Subterranean Press, 2011 hardcover, signed by author, new] – fiction – fantasy – beautifully presented omnibus volume of three novels by Hughart: Bridge of BirdsThe Story of Stone and Eight Skilled Gentlemen. I have already read Bridge of Birds in paperback edition, not the other two books. A thick book, 687 pages, thick creamy paper, nice page layouts, smallish but readable typeface. This will wait for just the right moment, probably later in the Fall or early Winter.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in fantasy, New Arrivals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Arrivals, September 19 – 25, 2011

  1. Carl V. says:

    This is a great looking collection and I’ve heard wonderful things. I bought a really nice collectable edition, that looks just like this, years back but sold it at a time when I was doing some debt reduction. I believe I made more than I paid for it. I would like to read the collection at some point as I keep seeing it crop up.

  2. Randy Johnson says:

    I have the first edition of this one. As you say, I’m waiting for the mood to strike me.

  3. Bill Crider says:

    Just one book, but it’s a really good one. I read the novels in their original editions and liked them a lot.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice looking book. I only got one book this week, from PaperBack Swap – an old paperback of Evan Hunter’s MOTHERS AND DAUGHTERS.

  5. The Chronicles of Master Li and Number Ten Ox by Barry Hughart is the perfect book for a long winter’s night. You’ll be searching for the other books.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    I really do wish I read fantasy. But it’s Jeff’s book, I crave.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    Oh, and my three books were gifts. (Like a thousand books on the TBR is not enough). Spooner by Pete Dexter, The Sorrow of War, Bao Ninh, and The Mighty Walzer by Howard Jacobson.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Patti, I’d be happy to lend it to you, especially as I doubt I’ll get to it any time soon. Email me if you want me to send it.

  9. Richard says:

    There is something wonderful about a beautiful book, though the reading experience is about the same as with the paperback edition… and these are heavy. Jeff, nice find. Patti, were those gifts from a wish list, or just from insightful giver(s)?

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, it was on my wish list for years before it finally came up.

  11. Frank Denton says:

    I have a book club edition of the three in an omnibus volume. Great stuff and an unusual setting. I heard the author decided against writing any more because it didn’t pay for the time spent.

  12. Richard says:

    Jeff, I have a few of those, they just sit there…

    Hey, Frank! That’s interesting, and sadly not too surprising given the market for novels like these.

Leave a Reply

