FFB: Dead Men’s Bones – The Air Adventure Stories of Lester Dent

this is the 60th in my series of forgotten books

Dead Men’s Bones – The Air Adventure Stories of Lester Dent by Lester Dent © 1930-1931, 2008, Black Dog Books 2009 trade paper – air adventure stories

This is volume 1 of Black Dog Books Lester Dent Library, a series of (so far) five books.

This collection of eight stories by the author of Doc Savage – most written before that character appeared in print. Lester Dent was a pulp writer with great imagination and he could really pound out the stories; a very prolific writer in his years writing pulp stories, novelettes and novels. These are good examples, and show the promise later fulfilled in the Doc Savage stories and novels.

These stories all have some things in common: they all feature a pilot as the good guy hero, they have some kind of fight or battle in the air, they all have a pretty girl in distress and of course they have a happy ending. That’s all good.

Aside from that, the plots vary but there are similarities. The stories weren’t written to be read back-to-back, and quite honestly I pictured the same heroic pilot in all of them though the name differed in each. There’s plenty of shooting, handguns and machine guns abound, bad guys get killed at a sometimes alarming rate, good guys get shot and also sometimes killed, the hero gets wounded but fights through, planes are patched up, plots revealed, fortunes in jewels, gold or furs discovered. These stories, and thus this collection, is a kick in the pants; fun and full of action, highly recommended. Another winner from Black Dog Books.

links to all of the Forgotten Books posts may be seen at Patti Abbott’s blog, Pattinase

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Adventure, books, Friday Forgotten Book, reading, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to FFB: Dead Men’s Bones – The Air Adventure Stories of Lester Dent

  1. Black Dog Books is fast becoming one of my favorite small press publishers. Excellent books at good prices!

  2. Drongo says:

    Rick, on a completely different topic, I hear that the rain in Portland has finally died down a bit. I hope you’re getting a chance to get outside and enjoy your no doubt lush and verdant surroundings.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    Yes, how do you like Portland now? Is it starting to win you over?

  4. Evan Lewis says:

    Nice. I want it.

  5. Richard says:

    Portland won us over a long time ago. Yes, today was beautiful, no rain, a high of 68, overcast burned off about Noon and we had a beautiful afternoon. It did rain the last few days – by rain I mean some showers and some clouds and even a few sun breaks as they call them here. It will do the same later in the week, though Friday looks good. The high temps are in the 60s these days and that’s nice, the garden is coming along. The slugs are out in force, but we bait frequently. Given a choice, I’d make the move here again.

    As for the book, Black Dog is indeed a terrific publisher and this is a highly enjoyable collection. Evan, it’s on the shelf…

  6. I’ve had my eye on this one a while now, as well as some of the others in the series.

    Your statement is why I’ve always has trouble reading a single author collection straight through. A writer will use similar themes over and, as you stated, “not meant to be read together.” Multi-author sets are much easier for me to go through.

  7. Richard says:

    True, Randy, but this one was no trouble, I had such fun reading the stories before I knew it I had gone through the whole thing.

  8. J F Norris says:

    You are quickly winning me over with all these Black Dog Books editions, Rick. The Sax Rohmer obviously is the most interesting to me. I wonder if it has most of the stories from HAUNTING AT LOW FENNEL. I’ll have to check out the website and look for the contents. I don’t want to buy it if I already have the stories despite its ver attractive design.

    On a separate note – lucky you for going with WordPress for your blog. Most of the FFB posts will not be up today since we all use Blogger. I wrote mine and automatically set it to appear at 7 AM. Nada. Not only that – my post from yesterday is mysteriously gone. and one I deleted has reappeared. Blogger’s nearly 24 hour outage is my first experience with technical problems with their service and I’m upset to have learned now that they have been plagued with problems since 2009.

    Oh, and it’s FRIDAY the 13th. Cue the eerie music.

  9. Todd Mason says:

    Well, John, you’ve been lucky if you haven’t had any problems…it frequently eats my comments (Blogger/Blogspot does) and occasionally give other headaches…and George Kelley’s experience, at least, with WordPress hasn’t been worry-free. Sic transit bloggo.

    But WP is certainly looking attractive at the moment. Kate Laity is migrating all her blogging over to WP…and I can’t imagine Tumblr’s too upset about this Collapse of Service on Bloggo’s part, either.

    http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/blogger/thread?tid=7b6d0384a4f5fa00&hl=en

  10. Todd Mason says:

    Yup, when producing at such volume, there’s no way the same themes won’t re-emerge…and that’s as true of the most consciously artistic of folk as for those striving for easy entertainment.

  11. Todd Mason says:

    Not that we of little productivity don’t have certain recurring themes, either…

  12. Although WORDPRESS can be quirky, I’ve never experienced a meltdown like the one BLOGGER is experiencing. GOOGLE’s reliability has taken a hit. And, this is on the heels of their amazing CHROMEBOOK introduction!

  13. Richard says:

    I haven’t had any problems with WordPress since I’ve been using it, a while now. My brother just bailed on Tumbler because of frequent outages and under-capacity servers. He went to Blogspot, unfortunately… about two weeks ago. Anyway, I had this post up very early because I have been frolicking in the sunshine the last couple of days. (read: doing yard work</em).

  14. Yvette says:

    LOVE the cover of this book, Richard! Black Dog publishers, I’m going to check out their lists. I love this sort of thing. But I have to say, the covers are the selling point for me. This one is a beauty.

    Plus I am smitten with the name: Lester Dent.

  15. Richard says:

    Dent was a fine pulp writer and these stories are a lot of fun. You may find many things to buy at Black Dog Books, Yvette.

Leave a Reply

