Friday Forgotten Books, April 29th, 2011

Here’s my contribution, followed by the list of other participants this week. If I’ve missed anyone please comment here as soon as possible and I’ll get you added. I’m on the left coast, so this is going up at Midnight Pacific Daylight Time. The summary will go up sometime Saturday morning, my time.  FFB will return to Pattinase, the blog of Patricia (Patti) Abbott, next week.

G Stands for Glory

stories by Norvell Page © 1936-1939, originally published in Ace G-Man Stories, this edition: Altus Press 2010 limited edition hardcover (also available in trade paperback)  – pulp crime short stories featuring the F.B.I.

It’s the stories, not the book, that are forgotten here. From the publisher’s website:

Known best for his work on Popular Publications’ The Spider, pulp scribe Norvell Page proved he was no slouch when it came to penning gangster and G-man epics! This book collects all eleven stories Page wrote for “Ace G-Man Stories” between 1936 and 1939, which are reprinted here for the first time!”

I’ve read some of the Spider adventures, and while I like them, I find these even more to my taste, since the plots elements are less outlandish. These stories are fast and furious, great fun reading though a bit predictable. There are at least three stories with similar set-ups: two agents, either in “G-school” or in their first year and still on probation, competing against each other both to make a good showing to their chief but also to get the girl. In both there is also a gang of crooks that needs to be caught. The crooks and the girl are a standard part of these stories, a required element by the story editor of Ace G-Man Stories.

These stories won’t be mistaken for anything serious or thought-provoking, but if it’s simply an enjoyable few hours that’s wanted, these may be a good choice. I’ll read more of Page’s non-Spider stories.

≈≈ ≈≈ ≈≈ ≈≈ ≈≈ ≈≈ ≈≈
the rest of this week’s FFB posters:

Yvette Banek
Joe Barone
Paul Bishop
Bill Crider
Scott Cupp
Martin Edwards
Jerry House
Randy Johnson
George Kelley
Rob Kitchin
B.V. Lawson
Evan Lewis (continues his posting of the Skyler Hobbs stories)
Steve Lewis
Todd Mason
J.F. Norris
James Reasoner
Gerard Saylor
Gerald Saylor (#2 – U tube interview)
Ron Scheer
Kerrie Smith
Spinetingler  (review by David Corbett)
Kevin Tipple (Barry Ergang)
James Winter

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Friday Forgotten Book, Personal Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday Forgotten Books, April 29th, 2011

  1. Barry Ergang is back this week on my blog with FFB. This week he reviews “NO CHANCE IN HELL” by Nick Quarry. My blog is at:

    http://kevintipplescorner.blogspot.com/

  2. Gerard says:

    I do have an older title listed in my most recent post. But, I had intended to link to this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aeXYQhzCkU4

  3. I’ll read anything by Norvell Page, man.

  4. Richard says:

    Kevin & Gerard – got it.

    Charles – I pretty much feel the same way.

  5. Yvette says:

    Richard, I’ve just posted my Forgotten Friday review on my blog. I’d never heard of Norvell Page (great name, by the way) but I love whole idea and I LOVE the cover!

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    Thanks, Rick!!!

  7. Richard says:

    Yvette – he’s an old time pulp writer, most it written in the 1930s and early 1940, so it’s not surprising you’ve not heard of him, but it’s kinda fun stuff to read.

    Patti – you are very welcome. The summary will be up tonight, I got it done early. By the way, Todd was kind enough to point out to me that I have been misspelling the name of your blog since January! I have tried to catch them all and correct them, but for heaven sakes if you spot it let me know!

Leave a Reply

