Really A Shame – NCAA Tournament

I turned on the Finals game last night with great expectations of a good game, and hope that perhaps the Butler University Bulldogs would win the National Championship, beating the University of Connecticut Huskies. What I saw was a fair game the first half, both teams seemed nervous and shot cold but the score was close. Butler was ahead by a couple of points at halftime.

Then in the second half it got awful. For no discernible reason, not coaching on either side, not UConn’s defense, the Butler players just couldn’t get the ball through the hoop. They went 3 for 24 at the beginning of the first half and ended with the lowest shooting percentage in 70 (possibly more) years of the tournament.  It was as if the basketball gods – or devils – had put a lid on the basket. I have never seen anything like it, and was, and still am, deeply sorry for the kids and their fine coach. I have read what the so-called pundits have said this morning, and a lot of it is baloney. This is about the best report I’ve read. No doubt, it was awful game in which to go cold, whatever the reason.

One thing I do believe is that having the games in huge arenas so more tickets can be sold and more profit made is a handicap for the players. Let them play in the familiar surrounds of a normal, university-sized court for heaven’s sake!

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Really A Shame – NCAA Tournament

  1. I felt the same disappointment you did, Rick. Bulter led by six points early in the second half, but then it all went south. You can’t win any basketball game if you’re shooting 12 for 64. Butler will be back.

  2. Richard says:

    I hope you’re right about them coming back, George. Going to the finals twice will help with recruiting, but new players take time to develop so it could be a few years. I just hope the coach stays for a few more years to do it, as I suspect there will be some big money waived at him from a few of the top tier schools.

  3. Drongo says:

    Although I was rooting for Butler, I feel a little sorry for the Huskies. They win the championship, but their opponents get most of the press before and after the game.

    Butler’s best player, Matt Howard, is graduating. It probably will take some time to reload. Like you, I hope Brad Stevens hangs around as the Bulldog’s coach for a while longer.

  4. Cap'n Bob says:

    I was pulling for UConn for one reason only: I know where they come from. I have no idea where Butler is.

  5. But Richard, you know money is GOD. No chance of ever playing in smaller arenas.

  6. Richard says:

    Cap’n Bob – I believe Butler is in Indianapolis. What city is UConn in?

    Randy – true, but one can hope.

  7. Steve Lewis says:

    UConn is in Storrs, a small section of the town of Mansfield CT, located about 40 minutes from where I live in Newington, a suburb of Hartford. Of course I’m biased, but I agree with Drongo. The Huskies really got shortchanged on what they did. First of all they won five games in five nights (first time any team has ever done that) to win the Big East championship, which boosted them from probably a 6 or 7 seed to a number 3 for the NCAA’s, then beat every team they had to face from that point on.

    They really ought to get more credit for their defensive work in the championship game, but Richard, I agree with you. Inside that huge arena I don’t think either team could see the baskets properly. I really resented the announcers for calling the low score an indicator of bad basketball. Both teams played their hearts out and each deserved to win.

  8. Somebody necessarily lend a hand to make critically posts I’d state. That is the very first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I amazed with the research you made to make this actual publish incredible. Fantastic activity!

Leave a Reply

