Bookshelves! (part 1)

The carpenter and cabinet maker are on the way with the bookcases for the “library”. They will be here in an hour or so, then the cases will be carried in, set up, bolted together and to the wall, trim added, any touching up done.

We’ve been waiting for quite some time, I started shopping for a carpenter in early January and got a bid from this guy about the 10th. There are a lot of boxes Wife and I are eager to empty and get out from underfoot, and naturally I’m eager to get some books out of their current imprisonment. Photos will be in Bookshelves! Part 2

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland, books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bookshelves! (part 1)

  1. Patti Abbott says:

    I am excited. Nice to have all those boxes gone at last.

  2. Richard says:

    Yes! We finally got all the CDs (about 2000 of them) into media storage yesterday and that alone eliminated a lot of boxes. A lot of the lower floor is finally coming together. Whew!

  3. These things always take longer than you think, Rick. I think you’ve been making good progress.

  4. Cap'n Bob says:

    I’m still a brick-and-board guy, but this sounds nicer.

  5. Richard says:

    George – yes, it’s true. These had to be constructed in modules in order to come in the house and down the stairs, then assembled on site. They had work in the shop to do before they came yesterday, then worked here for about 3 hours. It’s 8:30 and they have returned to finish up today. So far things look great.

    Bob – this is the third house I’ve built bookcases into. They look better, work better, etc. This time these units are removable should we move again.

  6. Charles Gramlich says:

    oh yes, I hate to have my books in boxes, although I do have some there now. I need to change that.

  7. Richard says:

    Charles – there will still be books in boxes here, this is only Phase I of our book shelving plan and is intended to house mostly mass market and trade paperbacks. Another set of shelves is planned for the hardcovers and oversized reference, art and coffee table books. We’ll see how that works into the budget… (yikes)

  8. Move again!!! Bite your tongue!

  9. Richard says:

    Amen to that, George.

  10. Cap'n Bob says:

    I’m joking about the bricks and boards, mostly. Built in shelves sound great, but I don’t think I’ll ever have any.

Leave a Reply

