another look! boxes of books! picture…

This is about half of them, when I took this shot there were still a lot on the shelves. The chair just came back from the re-upholsterers and will go in our bedroom by a west-facing window, perfect for afternoon reading. It’s really comfy.

Yeah, those cabinets are full of stuff the movers are going to pack, except the back couple which are full of… you guessed it, boxes of books.

I gotta tell you, if you live near a comic shop, next time you have to move, get as many of the small Diamond Distributing boxes (that’s some of them with the blue lettering behind the chair) because they are perfect for CDs, DVDs and paperbacks. Plus they are free. At least they are if your comic shop guy is a nice as mine is.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in the Move. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to another look! boxes of books! picture…

  1. Carl V. says:

    Makes my back hurt just looking at them. I’ve never been fortunate enough to use movers during any of my moves, so I am happy to hear that you have that going for you.

  2. Richard says:

    Thanks, Carl. We used a dolly to move these to the garage 3 at a time, there was some but not a terrible amount of lifting involved. Yep, we decided we pretty much had to have movers do everything. I dislike packing kitchen stuff, and don’t care for the rest of it either, plus how could we get it all there without a big van anyway? Now that the books are packed and the moving pieces are settled, it will be easier, I hope. There is a bit of money to be paid, of course.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    Just looking at those boxes is intimidating. Phil had many many thousand books, which I sneak out of here in small bundles whenever I can. He also has an office at school full of them too.

  4. Carl V. says:

    True, there is always money involved, but I tend to believe that as we get older we should be able to be in a position to spend money this way. I would imagine you and your wife would both agree that you’ve earned a move where someone else does a lot of the heavy lifting. :)

  5. Richard says:

    Patti – I’m not sure what my book count is these days, but, though it may be hard to believe, I don’t buy nearly as many books as I once did. If not for the internet, it would very few indeed.

    Carl – Yes, it’s true, it’s a luxury we’re insisting on, but the cost is frightening (over ten grand). We don’t have that much furniture or other stuff… except those books, which are heavy.

  6. I know each time I moved, I questioned whether I should have bought so many, many books. Now, I never want to move again.

  7. Richard says:

    There are elements to a move, in this case the biggest is the complete relocation for us, to another state, climate, social and cultural environment. My wife leaves her daughter and granddaughters who live in San Diego a thousand miles further away, I lived and worked in the county where we now live for more than 60 years, there many friends and places that will now be far away.

    The second is the house we’re going into, much larger and nicer than any either of us has had before. It’s that dream home you want to move into in your Forties, and we’re coming to it a good deal later in life. That house provides the opportunity for us to have a larger, nicer, library area, and a quilt studio, primary goals when we went house hunting in the first place more than two years ago.

    At that time we could only look in this area, and nothing we could afford satisfied our needs. With the possibility of my wife working from a home office came the chance to look in Oregon. This is my first move in 23 years, I suspect this will be our last move for a long time. So we’re going to settle into the new place with that in mind, and it’s one reason we insisted on either a one story or a two story with the master on the main, which we got. Though it has a lower floor, we could live on the main floor only if need be.

    George, you donated thousands of books to SUNY-B, so you would only have to move the things you have since then, surely not that many and organized and shelved in a way to make packing and unpacking less of a chore.

    I know that made it much easier here, we packed by segments: mystery paperbacks, mystery HCs, sf-f paperbacks, sf-f HC, General Fiction HC & pb, etc. And expensive as it is, paying movers to do the rest saves us work and sanity, or so we hope. Of course we’ll have to unpack it all in Portland, but that can be done in pieces.

  8. Ha! Ask Patti and Jeff and Art Scott and Stilwell how many books I’ve accumulated since I made that donation to SUNY at Buffalo, Rick.

  9. Richard says:

    Um, does that mean you have lots?’ But of course it must. Just think of all the money you’d have in the bank if you saved the book buy bucks…

  10. You can’t take it with you, Rick.

  11. Richard says:

    Too true, George, too true.

Leave a Reply

